Cook County, Minnesota Records

Cook County, Minnesota (Map It) was created on November 3, 1874 (Organized in 1897) from Lake County. The county was named in honor of Major Michael Cook of Faribault. Territorial and state senator, 1857-62; killed in Civil War at battle of Nashville. .

Cook County is bordered by Ontario Province, Canada (north, northeast), Lake County (west), Ashland County, Wisconsin (south), Keweenaw County, Michigan (east), Ontonagon County, Michigan (east).

Cook County Cities and Towns include Grand Marais.

Cook County Townships include Lutsen, Schroeder, Tofte Townships.

A Map of Cook County, Minnesota contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Cook County, Minnesota Courthouse Records

Cook County, Minnesota Courthouse
  • Save

Cook County, MN Courthouse

The Cook County Courthouse is located in Grand Marais, Minnesota. At some time Cook County was attached to St. Louis County for county and or judicial purposes. Some early records may be found there. Learn More About State of Minnesota Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Cook county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Cook County Recorder has Birth / Death Records from 1897, Marriage Records from 1897 and Land Records from ?. The County Recorder is responsible for all the real estate records for properties located in the County. Permanent records of deeds, mortgages and other various real estate records are recorded/filed in this office. As Local Registrar, the office protects and issues certified copies of Birth and Death records, Marriage Certificates & Military Discharge Records.
  • Cook County Court Administrator has Probate Records from ? and Court Records from 1892. The County Court Administrator maintains court files for Civil, Criminal, Traffic, Probate, Conciliation, Juvenile, Tax and Family Court matters.
  • Cook County Treasurers Office is responsible for keeping a complete accounting of all monies collected and expended by all the county departments. This includes the investing of available funds and accurately distributing the interest received. The department is also responsible for the collection of taxes and distribution to the various taxing entities within the County.

Cook County, Minnesota Census Records

Cook County, Minnesota Vital Records

Cook County, Minnesota Resources

Cook County, Minnesota External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save