Calhoun County, Iowa Records

Calhoun County, Iowa (Map It) was created on January 15, 1851 (Organized in 1855) from Unorganized Territory. Calhoun County was named in honor of John Caldwell Calhoun, the seventh vice president of the United States from 1825–1832

Calhoun County is bordered by Pocahontas County (north), Webster County (east), Greene County (southeast), Carroll County (southwest), Sac County (west).

Calhoun County Cities and Towns include Farnhamville, Jolley, Knierim, Lake City, Lohrville, Lytton, Manson, Pomeroy, Rinard, Rockwell City, Somers, Yetter

Calhoun County Townships include Butler, Calhoun, Cedar, Center, Elm Grove, Garfield, Greenfield, Jackson, Lake City, Lake Creek, Lincoln, Logan, Reading, Sherman, Twin Lakes, Union, Williams.

A Calhoun County, Iowa County and City Maps contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries. has is a collection of old Iowa maps.

Calhoun County, Iowa Courthouse Records

Calhoun County, Iowa Courthouse
  • Save

Calhoun County, IA Courthouse
Courthouse History

The Calhoun County Courthouse is located in Rockwell City, Iowa. Calhoun County was attached to Greene County and Boone County for a breif time prior to organization November 7, 1855. Some early records may be found there. The Courthouse was destroyed by fire in 1884. Learn More About State of Iowa Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Calhoun county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Calhoun County Recorder's Office has Birth / Death Records from 1880, has Marriage Records from 1857 and has Land Records from 1855. he County Recorder's Office maintains official records of documents affecting title to real estate. Every real estate transaction that takes place begins in the Recorder's Office. One of the major duties of the office is the management of public records. As a result, accuracy and preservation of records are a must in the Recorder's Office. In addition to real estate transactions, the Recorder's Office issues titles and liens; records veterans discharge papers; processes passport applications; accepts marriage applications and issues the subsequent license; issues certified copies of birth, death and marriage records as well as other numerous duties.
  • Calhoun County Clerk of Court has Probate Records from 1873and has Court Records from 1860?. The County Clerk of Court manages and maintains all trial court records, including pleadings, evidence and orders. The clerks of court have hundreds of administrative duties. They accept and process fines, fees and court costs owed to the state, child support checks, and civil judgments owed to litigants. They maintain a record of liens on all real estate in the county. Clerks help with involuntary hospitalization cases. They have the authority to dispose of scheduled violations which are not contested and do not require a court hearing. Clerks are also responsible for informing state and local government agencies of court orders.
  • Calhoun County Tax Assessor is responsible for assess and appraise all real estate and personal property, to have access to all public records of the county for the purpose of securing information pertaining to accurate listings of taxable property.

Calhoun County, Iowa Census Records

Calhoun County, Iowa Vital Records

Calhoun County, Iowa Resources

Calhoun County, Iowa External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save