Newton County, Indiana Records

Newton County, Indiana (Map It) was created on December 9, 1859 from Jasper County. This county was named for Sgt. John Newton, hero of the American Revolutionary War.

Newton County is bordered by  Lake County (north), Jasper County (east), Benton County (south), Iroquois County, Illinois (west), Kankakee County, Illinois (northwest).

Newton County Cities and Towns include  Brook, Goodland, Kentland, Morocco, Mount Ayr.

Newton County Townships include  Beaver, Colfax, Grant, Iroquois, Jackson, Jefferson, Lake, Lincoln, McClellan, Washington. See Map of Newton County Townships. has is a collection of old Indiana maps.

Newton County, Indiana Courthouse Records

Newton County, Indiana Courthouse
  • Save

Newton County, IN Courthouse

The Newton County Courthouse is located in Kentland, Indiana. Learn More About State of Indiana Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Newton county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Newton County Clerk has Marriage Records from 1860, Probate Records from 1860 and Court Records from 1860. The County Clerk responsiblities include administering Court Records of all Court Cases, prepares the Court's permanent historical record, performs marriage ceremonies, process marriage applications and issue marriage licenses, processes and distributes documents for court cases, and keeps a record of all wills and matters of trust in probate proceedings.
  • Newton County Recorder has Land Records from 1838. The County Recorder maintains, preserves and Records Deeds, Mortgages, Assignments, Releases, Powers of Attorney, Real Estate Contracts, Annexations, Trustee Elections, Affidavits, Final Decrees, Surveys, Federal Tax Liens, Mechanics Liens, Military Discharges, Articles of Incorporation, Cemetery Deeds, Bonds, Plats, Condominiums, Firms Doing Business Under Assumed Names, Delinquent Sewer Liens, and Miscellaneous Instruments.
  • Newton County Treasurer's Office is responsible for collecting taxes. The treasurer also receives distributions of local income and other taxes that are collected by the state such as real estate tax, personal property tax, mobile home tax, state assessed tax, and the following miscellaneous taxes: auto excise tax, inheritance tax, and innkeeper's tax.
  • Newton County Department of Health has Birth & Death Records from 1882. The County Department of Health maintains and provides Certified Birth and Death Records.

Newton County, Indiana Census Records

Newton County, Indiana Vital Records

Newton County, Indiana Resources

Newton County, Indiana External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save