York County, South Carolina Records

York County, South Carolina (Map It) was created on 1798 from Camden District. The county was named for York County, Pennsylvania..

York County is bordered by Columbus County, North Carolina (north), Columbus County, North Carolina (northeast), Lancaster County (east), Chester County (south), Union County (southwest), Cherokee County (west), Columbus County, North Carolina (northwest).

Cities and towns to be found in York County include Rock Hill, Tega Cay, York, Clover, Fort Mill, Hickory Grove, McConnells, Sharon, Smyrna.

A Map of York County, South Carolina contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

York County, South Carolina Courthouse Records

York County, South Carolina Courthouse
  • Save

York County, SC Courthouse

The York County Courthouse is located in York, South Carolina. Learn More About State of South Carolina Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in York county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • York County Clerk of Probate Court has Marriage Records from 1911  and Probate Records from 1786. The County Clerk of Probate Court has original jurisdiction over actions concerning the issuance of marriage licenses, the estate of a deceased person, the will of an individual, the estate of a minor or incapacitated person, trusts, and involuntary commitments.
  • York County County Clerk of Court / Register of Deeds has Court Records from 1786, Divorce Records from since April 1949 and Land Records from 1786. The County Clerk of Court / Register of Deeds is divided into General Sessions and Common Pleas Court. The Circuit Court is a formal court of record. It records and maintain deeds, mortgages, plats, state and federal tax liens, mechanics liens, uniform commercial code filings, and other miscellaneous documents pertaining to real estate transactions.
  • York County Tax Assessor / Collector is responsible for the collection of taxes. Our office does not calculate a property’s taxable value (Assessor’s Office).
  • York County Health Department has birth and death records from 1915. Marriage records prior to 1950 are available from the Probate Court office. Divorce records since April 1949 are available from the County Clerk's office.

York County, South Carolina Census Records

York County, South Carolina Vital Records

York County, South Carolina Resources

York County, South Carolina External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save