Williamsburg County, South Carolina Records

Williamsburg County, South Carolina (Map It) was created on 1802 from territory of Williamsburg County (non-functioning) in Georgetown Circuit Court District. The county was named in honor of King William III of England..

Williamsburg County is bordered by Florence County (north), Marion County (northeast), Georgetown County (east), Berkeley County (south), Clarendon County (west).

Williamsburg County Cities and Towns include Andrews, Greeleyville, Hemingway, Kingstree, Lane, Stuckey.

A Map of Williamsburg County, South Carolina contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Williamsburg County, South Carolina Courthouse Records

Williamsburg County, South Carolina Courthouse
  • Save

Williamsburg County, SC Courthouse

The Williamsburg County Courthouse is located in Kingstree, South Carolina. Learn More About State of South Carolina Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Williamsburg county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Williamsburg County Clerk of Probate Court has Marriage Records from 1911  and Probate Records from 1802. The County Clerk of Probate Court has original jurisdiction over actions concerning the issuance of marriage licenses, the estate of a deceased person, the will of an individual, the estate of a minor or incapacitated person, trusts, and involuntary commitments.
  • Williamsburg County County Clerk of Court / Register of Deeds has Court Records from 1806, Divorce Records from since April 1949 and Land Records from 1806. The County Clerk of Court / Register of Deeds is divided into General Sessions and Common Pleas Court. The Circuit Court is a formal court of record. It records and maintain deeds, mortgages, plats, state and federal tax liens, mechanics liens, uniform commercial code filings, and other miscellaneous documents pertaining to real estate transactions.
  • Williamsburg County Tax Assessor / Collector is responsible for the collection of taxes. Our office does not calculate a property’s taxable value (Assessor’s Office).
  • Williamsburg County Health Department has birth and death records from 1915. Marriage records prior to 1950 are available from the Probate Court office. Divorce records since April 1949 are available from the County Clerk's office.

Williamsburg County, South Carolina Census Records

Williamsburg County, South Carolina Vital Records

Williamsburg County, South Carolina Resources

Williamsburg County, South Carolina External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save