Pickens County, South Carolina Records

Pickens County, South Carolina (Map It) was created on 1826 from Pendleton District (at one time called Washington District). The county was named in honor of Andrew Pickens, Governor of South Carolina ..

Pickens County is bordered by Columbus County, North Carolina (north), Greenville County (east), Anderson County (south), Oconee County (west).

Pickens County Cities and Towns include Central, Clemson, Dacusville, Easley, Liberty, Norris, Pickens, Sunset, Six Mile.

A Map of Pickens County, South Carolina contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Pickens County, South Carolina Courthouse Records

Pickens County, South Carolina Courthouse
  • Save

Pickens County, SC Courthouse

The Pickens County Courthouse is located in Pickens, South Carolina. In searching for genealogy records be sure to check the following counties as they were created from Pickens County: Anderson County in 1826 and Oconee County in 1868. Learn More About State of South Carolina Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Pickens county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Pickens County Register of Deeds has Land Records from 1828. The County Register of Deeds records and maintain deeds, mortgages, plats, state and federal tax liens, mechanics liens, uniform commercial code filings, and other miscellaneous documents pertaining to real estate transactions.
  • Pickens County Clerk of Probate Court has Marriage Records from 1911  and Probate Records from 1828. The County Clerk of Probate Court has original jurisdiction over actions concerning the issuance of marriage licenses, the estate of a deceased person, the will of an individual, the estate of a minor or incapacitated person, trusts, and involuntary commitments.
  • Pickens County Clerk of Court has Court Records from 1823 and Divorce Records from since April 1949. The County Clerk of Court is divided into General Sessions and Common Pleas Court. The Circuit Court is a formal court of record.
  • Pickens County Tax Assessor / Collector is responsible for the collection of taxes. Our office does not calculate a property’s taxable value (Assessor’s Office).
  • Pickens County Health Department has birth and death records from 1915. Marriage records prior to 1950 are available from the Probate Court office. Divorce records since April 1949 are available from the County Clerk's office.

Pickens County, South Carolina Census Records

Pickens County, South Carolina Vital Records

Pickens County, South Carolina Resources

Pickens County, South Carolina External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save