Orangeburg County, South Carolina Records

Orangeburg County, South Carolina (Map It) was created on 1769 from 1769 Judicial District. The county was named in honor of King William V of Orange..

Orangeburg County is bordered by Calhoun County (north), Clarendon County (northeast), Dorchester County (southeast), Berkeley County (southeast), Bamberg County (south), Colleton County (south), Aiken County (west), Barnwell County (west), Lexington County (northwest).

Orangeburg County Cities and Towns include Bowman, Branchville, Brookdale, Cope, Cordova, Elloree, Eutawville, Holly Hill, Livingston, Neeses, North, Norway, Orangeburg, Rowesville, Santee, Springfield, Vance, Wilkinson Heights, Woodford.

A Map of Orangeburg County, South Carolina contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Orangeburg County, South Carolina Courthouse Records

Orangeburg County, South Carolina Courthouse
  • Save

Orangeburg County, SC Courthouse

The Orangeburg County Courthouse is located in Orangeburg, South Carolina. In searching for genealogy records be sure to check the following counties as they were created from Orangeburg County: Aiken County in 1871 and Calhoun County in 1908. Learn More About State of South Carolina Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Orangeburg county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

Public records were removed to Columbia early in 1865; on 17 February 1865, they were burned there during Sherman's occupation. Deed books suffered heavy record loss. Records fragmented.

  • Orangeburg County Register of Deeds has Land Records from 1824. The County Register of Deeds records and maintain deeds, mortgages, plats, state and federal tax liens, mechanics liens, uniform commercial code filings, and other miscellaneous documents pertaining to real estate transactions.
  • Orangeburg County Clerk of Probate Court has Marriage Records from 1911  and Probate Records from 1864. The County Clerk of Probate Court has original jurisdiction over actions concerning the issuance of marriage licenses, the estate of a deceased person, the will of an individual, the estate of a minor or incapacitated person, trusts, and involuntary commitments.
  • Orangeburg County Clerk of Court has Court Records from 1824 and Divorce Records from since April 1949. The County Clerk of Court is divided into General Sessions and Common Pleas Court. The Circuit Court is a formal court of record.
  • Orangeburg County Tax Assessor / Collector is responsible for the collection of taxes. Our office does not calculate a property’s taxable value (Assessor’s Office).
  • Orangeburg County Health Department has birth and death records from 1915. Marriage records prior to 1950 are available from the Probate Court office. Divorce records since April 1949 are available from the County Clerk's office.

Orangeburg County, South Carolina Census Records

Orangeburg County, South Carolina Vital Records

Orangeburg County, South Carolina Resources

Orangeburg County, South Carolina External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save