Marlboro County, South Carolina Records

Marlboro County, South Carolina (Map It) was created on March 2, 1785 from Cheraws District. The county was named in honor of John Churchill, 1st Duke of Marlborough, English general, diplomat, and confidant of monarchs..

Marlboro County is bordered by Columbus County, North Carolina (north), Columbus County, North Carolina (northeast), Columbus County, North Carolina (east), Dillon County (east), Florence County (south), Darlington County (southwest), Chesterfield County (west), Columbus County, North Carolina (northwest).

Marlboro County Cities and Towns include Bennettsville, Blenheim, Clio, McColl, Tatum, Wallace.

A Map of Marlboro County, South Carolina contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Marlboro County, South Carolina Courthouse Records

Marlboro County, South Carolina Courthouse
  • Save

Marlboro County, SC Courthouse

The Marlboro County Courthouse is located in Bennettsville, South Carolina. Learn More About State of South Carolina Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Marlboro county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

Probate estate records and marriage licenses up to 1950 are on microfilm at the Marlboro County Public Library for genealogy research and public viewing.  We recommend using the library due to little space to work in the vault at the Probate Judge's Office.

  • Marlboro County Clerk of Probate Court has Marriage Records from 1911  and Probate Records from 1787. The County Clerk of Probate Court has original jurisdiction over actions concerning the issuance of marriage licenses, the estate of a deceased person, the will of an individual, the estate of a minor or incapacitated person, trusts, and involuntary commitments.
  • Marlboro County County Clerk of Court / Register of Deeds has Court Records from 1786, Divorce Records from since April 1949 and Land Records from 1785. The County Clerk of Court / Register of Deeds is divided into General Sessions and Common Pleas Court. The Circuit Court is a formal court of record. It records and maintain deeds, mortgages, plats, state and federal tax liens, mechanics liens, uniform commercial code filings, and other miscellaneous documents pertaining to real estate transactions.
  • Marlboro County Tax Assessor / Collector is responsible for the collection of taxes. Our office does not calculate a property’s taxable value (Assessor’s Office).
  • Marlboro County Health Department has birth and death records from 1915. Marriage records prior to 1950 are available from the Probate Court office. Divorce records since April 1949 are available from the County Clerk's office.

Marlboro County, South Carolina Census Records

Marlboro County, South Carolina Vital Records

Marlboro County, South Carolina Resources

Marlboro County, South Carolina External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save