Lexington County, South Carolina Records

Lexington County, South Carolina (Map It) was created on 1804 from Orangeburg County. The county was named for the Battle of Lexington, opening skirmish of the Revolutionary War ..

Lexington County is bordered by Richland County (east), Orangeburg County (southeast), Calhoun County (southeast), Aiken County (southwest), Saluda County (west), Newberry County (northwest).

Lexington County Cities and Towns include Batesburg-Leesville, Cayce, Chapin, Columbia, Gaston, Gilbert, Irmo, Lexington, Oak Grove, Pelion, Pine Ridge, Red Bank, Seven Oaks, South Congaree, Springdale, Summit, Swansea, West Columbia.

A Map of Lexington County, South Carolina contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Lexington County, South Carolina Courthouse Records

Lexington County, South Carolina Courthouse
  • Save

Lexington County, SC Courthouse

The Lexington County Courthouse is located in Lexington, South Carolina. In searching for genealogy records be sure to check the following counties as they were created from Lexington County: Aiken County in 1871 and Calhoun County in 1908. Learn More About State of South Carolina Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Lexington county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

Record loss in 1839. In February 1865, advancing federal troops destroyed pre-1839 records of the clerk of court; the destruction included deeds and virtually all probate records.

  • Lexington County Register of Deeds has Land Records from 1839. The County Register of Deeds records and maintain deeds, mortgages, plats, state and federal tax liens, mechanics liens, uniform commercial code filings, and other miscellaneous documents pertaining to real estate transactions.
  • Lexington County Clerk of Probate Court has Marriage Records from 1911  and Probate Records from 1809. The County Clerk of Probate Court has original jurisdiction over actions concerning the issuance of marriage licenses, the estate of a deceased person, the will of an individual, the estate of a minor or incapacitated person, trusts, and involuntary commitments.
  • Lexington County Clerk of Court has Court Records from 1800 and Divorce Records from since April 1949. The County Clerk of Court is divided into General Sessions and Common Pleas Court. The Circuit Court is a formal court of record.
  • Lexington County Tax Assessor / Collector is responsible for the collection of taxes. Our office does not calculate a property’s taxable value (Assessor’s Office).
  • Lexington County Health Department has birth and death records from 1915. Marriage records prior to 1950 are available from the Probate Court office. Divorce records since April 1949 are available from the County Clerk's office.

Lexington County, South Carolina Census Records

Lexington County, South Carolina Vital Records

Lexington County, South Carolina Resources

Lexington County, South Carolina External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save