Laurens County, South Carolina Records

Laurens County, South Carolina (Map It) was created on March 12, 1785 from Ninety-Six District. The county was named in honor of Henry Laurens, president of the Second Continental Congress and prisoner of war during the American Revolution ..

Laurens County is bordered by Spartanburg County (north), Union County (northeast), Newberry County (southeast), Greenwood County (south), Abbeville County (southwest), Anderson County (west), Greenville County (northwest).

Laurens County Cities and Towns include Clinton, Cross Hill, Fountain Inn, Gray Court, Laurens, Ware Shoals, Waterloo.

A Map of Laurens County, South Carolina contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Laurens County, South Carolina Courthouse Records

Laurens County, South Carolina Courthouse
  • Save

Laurens County, SC Courthouse

The Laurens County Courthouse is located in Laurens, South Carolina. Learn More About State of South Carolina Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Laurens county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Laurens County Clerk of Probate Court has Marriage Records from 1911  and Probate Records from 1766. The County Clerk of Probate Court has original jurisdiction over actions concerning the issuance of marriage licenses, the estate of a deceased person, the will of an individual, the estate of a minor or incapacitated person, trusts, and involuntary commitments.
  • Laurens County County Clerk of Court / Register of Deeds has Court Records from 1774, Divorce Records from since April 1949 and Land Records from 1789. The County Clerk of Court / Register of Deeds is divided into General Sessions and Common Pleas Court. The Circuit Court is a formal court of record. It records and maintain deeds, mortgages, plats, state and federal tax liens, mechanics liens, uniform commercial code filings, and other miscellaneous documents pertaining to real estate transactions.
  • Laurens County Tax Assessor / Collector is responsible for the collection of taxes. Our office does not calculate a property’s taxable value (Assessor’s Office).
  • Laurens County Health Department has birth and death records from 1915. Marriage records prior to 1950 are available from the Probate Court office. Divorce records since April 1949 are available from the County Clerk's office.

Laurens County, South Carolina Census Records

Laurens County, South Carolina Vital Records

Laurens County, South Carolina Resources

Laurens County, South Carolina External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save