Georgetown County, South Carolina Records

Georgetown County, South Carolina (Map It) was created on 1769 from 1769 Judicial District. The county was named in honor of King George II of Great Britain..

Georgetown County is bordered by Williamsburg County (west), Horry County (north), Berkeley County (southwest), Charleston County (southwest).

Georgetown County Cities and Towns include Andrews, Georgetown, Murrells Inlet, Pawleys Island.

A Map of Georgetown County, South Carolina contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Georgetown County, South Carolina Courthouse Records

Georgetown County, South Carolina Courthouse
  • Save

Georgetown County, SC Courthouse

The Georgetown County Courthouse is located in Georgetown, South Carolina. Learn More About State of South Carolina Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Georgetown county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

In 1862 during the Civil War, Georgetown's records were sent to Chesterfield courthouse for safekeeping. They were destroyed there by fire during General Sherman's Union army occupation of that city in March 1865. Deed books have suffered heavy record loss.

  • Georgetown County Register of Deeds has Land Records from 1862. The County Register of Deeds records and maintain deeds, mortgages, plats, state and federal tax liens, mechanics liens, uniform commercial code filings, and other miscellaneous documents pertaining to real estate transactions.
  • Georgetown County Clerk of Probate Court has Marriage Records from 1911  and Probate Records from 1862. The County Clerk of Probate Court has original jurisdiction over actions concerning the issuance of marriage licenses, the estate of a deceased person, the will of an individual, the estate of a minor or incapacitated person, trusts, and involuntary commitments.
  • Georgetown County Clerk of Court has Court Records from 1783 and Divorce Records from since April 1949. The County Clerk of Court is divided into General Sessions and Common Pleas Court. The Circuit Court is a formal court of record.
  • Georgetown County Tax Assessor / Collector is responsible for the collection of taxes. Our office does not calculate a property’s taxable value (Assessor’s Office).
  • Georgetown County Health Department has birth and death records from 1915. Marriage records prior to 1950 are available from the Probate Court office. Divorce records since April 1949 are available from the County Clerk's office.

Georgetown County, South Carolina Census Records

Georgetown County, South Carolina Vital Records

Georgetown County, South Carolina Resources

Georgetown County, South Carolina External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save