Colleton County, South Carolina Records

Colleton County, South Carolina (Map It) was created on 1800 from Charleston County. The county was named in honor of John Colleton, colonial proprietary landowner ..

Colleton County is bordered by Orangeburg County (north), Dorchester County (northeast), Charleston County (east), Beaufort County (south), Hampton County (west), Allendale County (west), Bamberg County (northwest).

Colleton County Cities and Towns include Cottageville, Edisto Beach, Green Pond, Lodge, Round O, Ruffin, Smoaks, Walterboro, Williams, Jacksonboro.

A Map of Colleton County, South Carolina contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Colleton County, South Carolina Courthouse Records

Colleton County, South Carolina Courthouse
  • Save

Colleton County, SC Courthouse

The Colleton County Courthouse is located in Walterboro, South Carolina. Learn More About State of South Carolina Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Colleton county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

Records were evacuated to Columbia in February 1865, where fire destroyed them. Deed books have suffered heavy losses. Virtually no pre-1865 records survived.

  • Colleton County Register of Deeds has Land Records from 1802. The County Register of Deeds records and maintain deeds, mortgages, plats, state and federal tax liens, mechanics liens, uniform commercial code filings, and other miscellaneous documents pertaining to real estate transactions.
  • Colleton County Clerk of Probate Court has Marriage Records from 1911 and Probate Records from 1865. The County Clerk of Probate Court has original jurisdiction over actions concerning the issuance of marriage licenses, the estate of a deceased person, the will of an individual, the estate of a minor or incapacitated person, trusts, and involuntary commitments.
  • Colleton County Clerk of Court has Court Records from 1807 and Divorce Records from since April 1949. The County Clerk of Court is divided into General Sessions and Common Pleas Court. The Circuit Court is a formal court of record.
  • Colleton County Tax Assessor / Collector is responsible for the collection of taxes. Our office does not calculate a property’s taxable value (Assessor’s Office).
  • Colleton County Health Department has birth and death records from 1915. Marriage records prior to 1950 are available from the Probate Court office. Divorce records since April 1949 are available from the County Clerk's office.

Colleton County, South Carolina Census Records

Colleton County, South Carolina Vital Records

Colleton County, South Carolina Resources

Colleton County, South Carolina External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save