Clarendon County, South Carolina Records

Clarendon County, South Carolina (Map It) was created on 1855 from Sumter County. The county was named in honor of Edward Hyde, 1st Earl of Clarendon, colonial proprietary landowner ..

Clarendon County is bordered by Sumter County (north), Florence County (northeast), Williamsburg County (east), Berkeley County (southeast), Orangeburg County (southwest), Calhoun County (west).

Clarendon County Cities and Towns include Alcolu, Manning, Paxville, Silver, Summerton, Turbeville.

A Map of Clarendon County, South Carolina contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Clarendon County, South Carolina Courthouse Records

Clarendon County, South Carolina Courthouse
  • Save

Clarendon County, SC Courthouse

The Clarendon County Courthouse is located in Manning, South Carolina. Learn More About State of South Carolina Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Clarendon county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

Although records were removed before General Edward H. Potter's Union cavalry destroyed Manning in April 1865, Clarendon's loose probate papers were destroyed later, at an undetermined date; they begin in 1875. Sumter suffered a major loss of probate records and deeds, on 27 November 1801, when fire destroyed the residence of Sumter District Clerk of Court John Horan, in Stateburg. This fire also consumed the records of Clarendon, Claremont, and Salem counties. Record loss, 1911.

  • Clarendon County Register of Deeds has Land Records from 1856. The County Register of Deeds records and maintain deeds, mortgages, plats, state and federal tax liens, mechanics liens, uniform commercial code filings, and other miscellaneous documents pertaining to real estate transactions.
  • Clarendon County Clerk of Probate Court has Marriage Records from 1911 and Probate Records from 1856. The County Clerk of Probate Court has original jurisdiction over actions concerning the issuance of marriage licenses, the estate of a deceased person, the will of an individual, the estate of a minor or incapacitated person, trusts, and involuntary commitments.
  • Clarendon County Clerk of Court has Court Records from 1856 and Divorce Records from since April 1949. The County Clerk of Court is divided into General Sessions and Common Pleas Court. The Circuit Court is a formal court of record.
  • Clarendon County Tax Assessor / Collector is responsible for the collection of taxes. Our office does not calculate a property’s taxable value (Assessor’s Office).
  • Clarendon County Health Department has birth and death records from 1915. Marriage records prior to 1950 are available from the Probate Court office. Divorce records since April 1949 are available from the County Clerk's office.

Clarendon County, South Carolina Census Records

Clarendon County, South Carolina Vital Records

Clarendon County, South Carolina Resources

Clarendon County, South Carolina External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save