Charleston County, South Carolina Records

Charleston County, South Carolina (Map It) was created on 1769 from Charleston District (formed in 1769) and includes the old St. Philip Parish, St. Michael Parish, Christ Church Parish, St. Andrew Parish, St. John Colleton Parish, and part of St. James Santee Parish.. The county was named in honor of King Charles II of England..

Charleston County is bordered by Berkeley County (north), Georgetown County (northeast), Colleton County (west), Dorchester County (northwest).

Charleston County Cities and Towns include Awendaw, Hollywood, James Island, Kiawah Island, Lincolnville, McClellanville, Meggett, Mount Pleasant, Ravenel, Rockville, Seabrook Island, Sullivan's Island.

A Map of Charleston County, South Carolina contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Charleston County, South Carolina Courthouse Records

Charleston County, South Carolina Courthouse
  • Save

Charleston County, SC Courthouse
  • Save

Old Charleston County Courthouse

The Charleston County Courthouse is located in Charleston, South Carolina. Charleston City Records are in Charleston County; Birth Records / Death Records from 1871 / 1821; Marriage Records from 1871; Land Records from 1858; Probate Records from 1790; Court Records from 1774. In searching for genealogy records be sure to check the following counties as they were created from Charleston County: Colleton County in 1800 andBerkeley County in 1882. Learn More About State of South Carolina Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Charleston county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

Records of Charleston Circuit Court and Equity Circuit Districts and the Province of South Carolina (1671—1785) are housed in Charleston County.

  • Charleston County Register of Deeds has Land Records from 1671. The County Register of Deeds records and maintain deeds, mortgages, plats, state and federal tax liens, mechanics liens, uniform commercial code filings, and other miscellaneous documents pertaining to real estate transactions.
  • Charleston County Clerk of Probate Court has Marriage Records from 1911 and Probate Records from 1671. The County Clerk of Probate Court has original jurisdiction over actions concerning the issuance of marriage licenses, the estate of a deceased person, the will of an individual, the estate of a minor or incapacitated person, trusts, and involuntary commitments.
  • Charleston County Clerk of Court has Court Records from 1700 and Divorce Records from since April 1949. The County Clerk of Court is divided into General Sessions and Common Pleas Court. The Circuit Court is a formal court of record.
  • Charleston County Tax Assessor / Collector is responsible for the collection of taxes. Our office does not calculate a property’s taxable value (Assessor’s Office).
  • Charleston County Health Department has birth and death records from 1915. Marriage records prior to 1950 are available from the Probate Court office. Divorce records since April 1949 are available from the County Clerk's office.

Charleston County, South Carolina Census Records

Charleston County, South Carolina Vital Records

Charleston County, South Carolina Resources

Charleston County, South Carolina External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save