Calhoun County, South Carolina Records

Calhoun County, South Carolina (Map It) was created on March 12, 1908 from Lexington County and Orangeburg County. The county was named in honor of John C. Calhoun, U.S. Senator from South Carolina and states' rights advocate ..

Calhoun County is bordered by Richland County (north), Sumter County (northeast), Clarendon County (east), Orangeburg County (south), Lexington County (northwest).

Calhoun County Cities and Towns include Cameron, Creston, Fort Motte, Lone Star, St. Matthews, Sandy Run.

A Map of Calhoun County, South Carolina contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Calhoun County, South Carolina Courthouse Records

Calhoun County, South Carolina Courthouse
  • Save

Calhoun County, SC Courthouse

The Calhoun County Courthouse is located in St. Matthews, South Carolina. Learn More About State of South Carolina Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Calhoun county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Calhoun County Clerk of Probate Court has Marriage Records from 1911 and Probate Records from 1908. The County Clerk of Probate Court has original jurisdiction over actions concerning the issuance of marriage licenses, the estate of a deceased person, the will of an individual, the estate of a minor or incapacitated person, trusts, and involuntary commitments.
  • Calhoun County Clerk of Court / Register of Deeds has Court Records from 1908, Divorce Records from since April 1949 and Land Records from 1908. The County Clerk of Court / Register of Deeds is divided into General Sessions and Common Pleas Court. The Circuit Court is a formal court of record. It records and maintain deeds, mortgages, plats, state and federal tax liens, mechanics liens, uniform commercial code filings, and other miscellaneous documents pertaining to real estate transactions.
  • Calhoun County Tax Assessor / Collector is responsible for the collection of taxes. Our office does not calculate a property’s taxable value (Assessor’s Office).
  • Calhoun County Health Department has birth and death records from 1915. Marriage records prior to 1950 are available from the Probate Court office. Divorce records since April 1949 are available from the County Clerk's office.

Calhoun County, South Carolina Census Records

  • Learn More: State of South Carolina Census Records
  • U.S. Federal Population Schedules: 1910, 1920, 1930, 1940
  • U.S. Federal Census Slave Schedules: None
  • U.S. Federal Census Mortality Schedules: None
  • Selected U.S. Federal Census Agriculture Schedules: None
  • Selected U.S. Federal Census Industry Schedules: None
  • Union Veterans Schedules: None

Calhoun County, South Carolina Vital Records

Calhoun County, South Carolina Resources

Calhoun County, South Carolina External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save