Aiken County, South Carolina Records

Aiken County, South Carolina (Map It) was created on March 10, 1871 from Orangeburg County, Lexington County, Edgefield County, and Barnwell County. The county was named in honor of William Aiken, founder of the South Carolina Canal and Railroad Company. .

Aiken County is bordered by Saluda County (north), Lexington County (northeast), Orangeburg County (east), Barnwell County (south), Burke County, Georgia (southwest), Edgefield County (west), Richmond County, Georgia (west).

Aiken County Cities and Towns include Aiken, Bath, Beech Island, Belvedere, Burnettown, Clearwater, Gloverville, Graniteville, Jackson, Langley, Monetta, New Ellenton, North Augusta, Perry, Salley, Vaucluse, Wagener, Warrenville, Windsor.

A Map of Aiken County, South Carolina contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Aiken County, South Carolina Courthouse Records

Aiken County, South Carolina Courthouse
  • Save

Aiken County, SC Courthouse

The Aiken County Courthouse is located in Aiken, South Carolina. Learn More About State of South Carolina Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Aiken county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Aiken County Registrar Mesne Conveyance has Land Records from 1872. The County Register of Deeds records and maintain deeds, mortgages, plats, state and federal tax liens, mechanics liens, uniform commercial code filings, and other miscellaneous documents pertaining to real estate transactions.
  • Aiken County Clerk of Probate Court has Marriage Records from 1911  and Probate Records from 1872. The County Clerk of Probate Court has original jurisdiction over actions concerning the issuance of marriage licenses, the estate of a deceased person, the will of an individual, the estate of a minor or incapacitated person, trusts, and involuntary commitments.
  • Aiken County Clerk of Court has Court Records from 1871 and Divorce Records from since April 1949. The County Clerk of Court is divided into General Sessions and Common Pleas Court. The Circuit Court is a formal court of record.
  • Aiken County Tax Assessor / Collector is responsible for the collection of taxes. Our office does not calculate a property’s taxable value (Assessor’s Office).
  • Aiken County Health Department has birth and death records from 1915. Marriage records prior to 1950 are available from the Probate Court office. Divorce records since April 1949 are available from the County Clerk's office.

Aiken County, South Carolina Census Records

Aiken County, South Carolina Vital Records

Aiken County, South Carolina Resources

Aiken County, South Carolina External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save