Carter County, Montana Records

Carter County, Montana (Map It) was created on February 22, 1917 from Fallon County. The county was named in honor of Thomas Henry Carter (1854 - 1911), a U.S. Senator from Montana.

Carter County is bordered by Powder River County (west), Custer County (north), Fallon County (north), Harding County, South Dakota (east), Butte County, South Dakota, Crook County, Wyoming (south).

Carter County Cities and Towns include Ekalaka, Alzada, Boyes, Capitol, Hammond.

A Map of Carter County, Montana contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Carter County, Montana Courthouse Records

Carter County, Montana Courthouse
  • Save

Carter County, MT Courthouse

The Carter County Courthouse is located in Ekalaka, Montana. Learn More About State of Montana Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Carter county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Carter County Clerk and Recorder has Birth / Death Records from 1915 and Land Records from 1917. The County Clerk and Recorder responsibilities include but are not limited to, recording and maintaining the majority of all the legal documents relating to real estate records, land descriptions, plats and surveys, county birth and death records and the records of the Board of County commissioners.
  • Carter County Clerk of District Court has Marriage / Divorce Records from 1917, Probate Records from 1917 and Court Records from 1917 . The County Clerk of District Court is responsible for all District Court records. These records include Adoption, Civil, Criminal, Dependent Neglect, Domestic Relations, Guardianship, Juvenile, Paternity, Probate and Sanity cases. The clerk also issues, files and records all Madison County Marriage license applications and license.

Carter County, Montana Census Records

  • Learn More: State of Montana Census Records
  • U.S. Federal Population Schedules: 1920, 1930, 1940
  • U.S. Indian Census Records: 1885-1940
  • State Population Schedules: None
  • U.S. Federal Census Mortality Schedules: None
  • Selected U.S. Federal Census Agriculture Schedules: None
  • Selected U.S. Federal Census Industry Schedules: None
  • Union Veterans Schedules: None

Carter County, Montana Vital Records

Carter County, Montana Resources

Carter County, Montana External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save