Riverside County, California Records

Riverside County, California (Map It) was created on March 11, 1893 from San Diego County and San Bernardino County . Riverside County was named for  the City of Riverside, christened when the upper canal of the Santa Ana River reached it in 1871

Riverside County is bordered by San Bernardino County (north), La Paz County, Arizona (east), Imperial County (south), San Diego County (south), Orange County (west) .

Riverside County Cities and Towns include Banning, Beaumont, Blythe, Calimesa, Canyon Lake, Cathedral City, Coachella, Corona, Desert Hot Springs, Eastvale, Hemet, Indian Wells, Indio, Jurupa Valley, Lake Elsinore, La Quinta, Menifee, Moreno Valley, Murrieta, Norco, Palm Desert, Palm Springs, Perris, Rancho Mirage, Riverside, San Jacinto, Temecula, Wildomar .

Since its creation Riverside County boundries have changed to include these:

Riverside County, California Courthouse Records

Riverside County, California Courthouse
  • Save

Riverside County, CA Courthouse
Old Riverside County, California Courthouse
  • Save

Old Riverside County Courthouse

The Riverside County Courthouse is located in Riverside, California. Learn More About State of California Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Courthouse History - Riverside's original courthouse was rented space on the ground floor of a downtown hotel until a 1902 bond measure for construction of a monumental new courthouse won voter approval. Modeled on the Grand Palais in Paris, the building occupies nearly a full block and reflects Riverside's turn-of-the-century status as one of the state's wealthiest counties. After sustaining minor damage in previous earthquakes, in 1994 the building was vacated following the Northridge quake. Riverside's landmark was restored with funds from court filing fees and rededicated in October 1998.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research. Some early court records from the various courts may have been sent to the California State Archives. Besides court minutes and judgements, these records include tax lists, wills, deeds, estate inventories, and marriage bonds. The California State Archives has microfilm of selected county records, 1850–1919.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Riverside county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk. Some counties encompass land settled in the eighteenth century; their records pre-date county formation. Land transactions and vital records recorded in the county are at the county recorder's office. The county clerk general has probate books and files from the county's superior court, civil court records, and naturalizations. Divorces may be in either place, depending on how filed.

  • Riverside County Recorder-Clerk has Birth / Death Records from 1893, Marriage Records from 1893 and Land Records from 1893. The County Recorder-Clerk is s responsible for examination and recording of all documents presented for recording that deal with establishing ownership of land in the County or as required by statute; administers the real property transfer tax law and maintains a permanent record and indexes of all documents for public viewing plus providing certified copies requested by the public; recording of all lawful documents such as deeds, deeds of trust, judgments, liens, affidavits, Uniform Commercial Code Financial Statements, etc; and the filing of Births, Deaths, and Marriages.
  • Riverside County Clerk of Superior Court has Probate Records from 1893 and Court Records from 1893. The County Clerk of Superior Court has probate books and files from the county's superior court, civil court records, and naturalizations. Divorces may be here or in the Recorders Office, depending on how it was filed.
  • Riverside County County Treasurer / Tax Collector
  • Local Registrar of Births and Deaths, 4065 County Circle Drive, Riverside, CA 92503; Office (951) 358-5068

Riverside County, California Census Records

Riverside County, California Vital Records

Riverside County, California Resources

Riverside County, California External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save