Lincoln County, South Dakota Records

Lincoln County, South Dakota (Map It) was created on April 05, 1862 from Unorganized territory. The county was named for Lincoln County, Maine.

Lincoln County is bordered by Minnehaha County (north), Lyon County, Iowa (northeast), Sioux County, Iowa, Union County (south), Clay County (southwest), Turner County (west).

Lincoln County Cities and Towns include Beresford, Canton, Fairview, Harrisburg, Hudson, Lennox, Moe, Norway Center, Shindler, Sioux Falls, Tea, Worthing. has is a collection of old South Dakota maps.

Lincoln County, South Dakota Courthouse Records

The Lincoln County Courthouse is located in Canton, South Dakota. Learn More About State of South Dakota Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Lincoln county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

The state archives holds probate records (1883—1914).

  • Lincoln County Register of Deeds has Marriage Records from 1873 and Land Records from 1862?. The County Register of Deeds is the primary record-keeping and archival repository for county land records and for the recording & maintaining of records pertaining to that real estate, plats, deeds, mortgages & many miscellaneous documents. This office is the keeper of birth, death & marriage records, military discharge records, fictitious name filings, and various types of liens, including mechanic’s liens, state and federal tax liens.
  • Lincoln County Clerk of Court has Probate Records from 1862? and Court Records from 1862?.

Lincoln County, South Dakota Census Records

Lincoln County, South Dakota Vital Records

Lincoln County, South Dakota Resources

Lincoln County, South Dakota External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save