Jones County, South Dakota Records

Jones County, South Dakota (Map It) was created on January 15, 1917 from Lyman County. The county was named in honor of George W. Jones, territorial legislator.

Jones County is bordered by Stanley County (north), Lyman County (east), Mellette County (south), Jackson County (southwest), Haakon County (northwest).

Jones County Cities and Towns include Draper, Murdo, Okaton. has is a collection of old South Dakota maps.

Jones County, South Dakota Courthouse Records

The Jones County Courthouse is located in Murdo, South Dakota. Learn More About State of South Dakota Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Jones county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

The state archives has probate records and circuit court judgments (1917—78).

  • Jones County Register of Deeds has Marriage Records from 1917 and Land Records from 1917?. The County Register of Deeds is the primary record-keeping and archival repository for county land records and for the recording & maintaining of records pertaining to that real estate, plats, deeds, mortgages & many miscellaneous documents. This office is the keeper of birth, death & marriage records, military discharge records, fictitious name filings, and various types of liens, including mechanic’s liens, state and federal tax liens.
  • Jones County Clerk of Court has Probate Records from 1917? and Court Records from 1917?.

Jones County, South Dakota Census Records

Jones County, South Dakota Vital Records

Jones County, South Dakota Resources

Jones County, South Dakota External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save