Buffalo County, South Dakota Records

Buffalo County, South Dakota (Map It) was created on January 08, 1873 from Unorganized territory. The county was named for the American Bison.

Buffalo County is bordered by Hand County (northeast), Jerauld County (east), Brule County (south), Lyman County (west), Hyde County.

Buffalo County Cities and Towns include Fort Thompson.

MapGeeks.org has is a collection of old South Dakota maps.

Buffalo County, South Dakota Courthouse Records

The Buffalo County Courthouse is located in Gann Valley, South Dakota. Learn More About State of South Dakota Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Buffalo county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

Parts of the original Buffalo County became counties in North Dakota.

  • Buffalo County Register of Deeds has Marriage Records from 1887 and Land Records from 1885. The County Register of Deeds is the primary record-keeping and archival repository for county land records and for the recording & maintaining of records pertaining to that real estate, plats, deeds, mortgages & many miscellaneous documents. This office is the keeper of birth, death & marriage records, military discharge records, fictitious name filings, and various types of liens, including mechanic’s liens, state and federal tax liens.
  • Buffalo County Clerk of Court has Probate Records from 1884 and Court Records from 1890.

Buffalo County, South Dakota Census Records

Buffalo County, South Dakota Vital Records

Buffalo County, South Dakota Resources

Buffalo County, South Dakota External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save