Brown County, South Dakota Records

Brown County, South Dakota (Map It) was created on October 1, 1879 from Beadle County. The county was named in honor of Alfred Brown, territorial legislator.

Brown County is bordered by Dickey County, North Dakota (north), Sargent County, North Dakota (northeast), Marshall County (east), Day County, Spink County (south), Faulk County (southwest), Edmunds County (southwest), McPherson County (northwest).

Brown County Cities and Towns include Aberdeen, Bath, Barnard, Claremont, Columbia, Ferney, Frederick, Groton, Hecla, Houghton, Huffton, James, Mansfield *, Ordway, Putney, Randolph, Richmond, Stratford, Verdon, Warner, Winship, Westport. has is a collection of old South Dakota maps.

Brown County, South Dakota Courthouse Records

The Brown County Courthouse is located in Aberdeen, South Dakota. Learn More About State of South Dakota Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Brown county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

The state archives holds records (1870—1950).

  • Brown County Register of Deeds has Marriage Records from 1892  and Land Records from 1879?. The County Register of Deeds is the primary record-keeping and archival repository for county land records and for the recording & maintaining of records pertaining to that real estate, plats, deeds, mortgages & many miscellaneous documents. This office is the keeper of birth, death & marriage records, military discharge records, fictitious name filings, and various types of liens, including mechanic’s liens, state and federal tax liens.
  • Brown County Clerk of Court has Probate Records from 1879? and Court Records from 1879?.

Brown County, South Dakota Census Records

Brown County, South Dakota Vital Records

Brown County, South Dakota Resources

Brown County, South Dakota External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save