Wilkes County, Georgia Records

Wilkes County, Georgia (Map It) was created on February 25, 1784 from Cherokee and Creek Cessions of 1773. Portions of from Wilkes County to form Elbert County in 1790, Oglethorpe County in 1793, and Lincoln County in 1796, and to help form Warren County in 1793 and Taliaferro County in 1825). Wilkes County was named in honor of John Wilkes (1727 - 97), a British Member of Parliament who sympathized with the cause of American independence.

Wilkes County is bordered by  Elbert County (north), Lincoln County (east), McDuffie County (southeast), Warren County (south), Taliaferro County (southwest), Oglethorpe County (west)

A Map of Wilkes County, Georgia contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Wilkes County, Georgia Courthouse Records

Wilkes County, Georgia Courthouse
  • Save

Wilkes County, GA Courthouse

The Wilkes County Courthouse is located in Washington, Georgia.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Wilkes county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • History of Baker County, Georgia Courthouse
  • Wilkes County Clerk of Superior Court has Land Records from 1777 and Court Records from 1778. The County Clerk of Superior Court has jurisdiction over cases for title to land and equity, felony cases, adoptions, divorces, child support and custody enforcement. The clerk also is tasked with recording deeds and maintaining the chain of title to all property in the county. Be aware that Lands were given to Georgia citizens by lotteries for the years 1805, 1807, 1820, 1821, 1827, 1832, 1832 (Gold), 1833.
  • Wilkes County Clerk of Probate Court has Marriage Records from 1790 and Probate Records from 1777.The County Clerk of Probate Court responsibilities include legal proceedings forh Wills, Estates, Guardianships of minor children, Involuntary Committals Hearings, Issuance of Marriage License, ect.. The county probate judge's office is the office where the most valuable genealogical records are created and maintained in the state of Georgia.
  • Wilkes County Tax Digests are records scanned from microfilm in the Georgia Archives.
  • Wilkes County Health Department can issue Birth, Marriage and Death certificates while you wait. Contact the Clerk of Superior Court for Divorce Records and the Probate Judge for Marriage Records.

Wilkes County, Georgia Census Records

Wilkes County, Georgia Vital Records

Wilkes County, Georgia Resources

Wilkes County, Georgia External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save