Whitfield County, Georgia Records

Whitfield County, Georgia (Map It) was created on December 30, 1851 from Murray County. Whitfield County was named in honor of George Whitefield (1714 - 70), a noted pastor who established the Bethesda Orphanage near Savannah.

Whitfield County is bordered by  Bradley County, Tennessee (north), Murray County (east), Gordon County (south), Walker County (southwest), Catoosa County ( west-northwest), Hamilton County, Tennessee (northwest).

A Map of Whitfield County, Georgia contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Whitfield County, Georgia Courthouse Records

Whitfield County, Georgia Courthouse
  • Save

Whitfield County, GA Courthouse

The Whitfield County Courthouse is located in Dalton, Georgia.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Whitfield county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • History of Baker County, Georgia Courthouse
  • Whitfield County Clerk of Superior Court has Land Records from 1852 and Court Records from 1852. The County Clerk of Superior Court has jurisdiction over cases for title to land and equity, felony cases, adoptions, divorces, child support and custody enforcement. The clerk also is tasked with recording deeds and maintaining the chain of title to all property in the county.
  • Whitfield County Clerk of Probate Court has Marriage Records from 1852 and Probate Records from 1852.The County Clerk of Probate Court responsibilities include legal proceedings forh Wills, Estates, Guardianships of minor children, Involuntary Committals Hearings, Issuance of Marriage License, ect.. The county probate judge's office is the office where the most valuable genealogical records are created and maintained in the state of Georgia.
  • Whitfield County Tax Digests are records scanned from microfilm in the Georgia Archives.
  • Whitfield County Health Department can issue Birth, Marriage and Death certificates while you wait. Contact the Clerk of Superior Court for Divorce Records and the Probate Judge for Marriage Records.

Whitfield County, Georgia Census Records

Whitfield County, Georgia Vital Records

Whitfield County, Georgia Resources

Whitfield County, Georgia External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save