Walker County, Georgia Records

Walker County, Georgia (Map It) was created on December 18,1833 from Murray County. Portions of Walker County were used to create Chattooga County in 1838 and Catoosa County in 1853. Walker County was named in honor of Major Freeman Walker (1780 - 1827), a U.S. Senator (1819 - 1821).

Walker County is bordered by  Hamilton County, Tennessee (north), Catoosa County ( northeast), Whitfield County (east), Gordon County (south), Floyd County (south), Chattooga County (south), DeKalb County, Alabama (southwest), Dade County (west)

A Map of Walker County, Georgia contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Walker County, Georgia Courthouse Records

Walker County, Georgia Courthouse
  • Save

Walker County, GA Courthouse

The Walker County Courthouse is located in Lafayette, Georgia.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Walker county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • History of Baker County, Georgia Courthouse
  • Walker County Clerk of Superior Court has Land Records from 1883 and Court Records from 1883. The County Clerk of Superior Court has jurisdiction over cases for title to land and equity, felony cases, adoptions, divorces, child support and custody enforcement. The clerk also is tasked with recording deeds and maintaining the chain of title to all property in the county. Be aware that Lands were given to Georgia citizens by lotteries for the years 1805, 1807, 1820, 1821, 1827, 1832, 1832 (Gold), 1833.
  • Walker County Clerk of Probate Court has Marriage Records from 1883 and Probate Records from 1883.The County Clerk of Probate Court responsibilities include legal proceedings forh Wills, Estates, Guardianships of minor children, Involuntary Committals Hearings, Issuance of Marriage License, ect.. The county probate judge's office is the office where the most valuable genealogical records are created and maintained in the state of Georgia.
  • Walker County Tax Digests are records scanned from microfilm in the Georgia Archives.
  • Walker County Health Department can issue Birth, Marriage and Death certificates while you wait. Contact the Clerk of Superior Court for Divorce Records and the Probate Judge for Marriage Records.

Walker County, Georgia Census Records

Walker County, Georgia Vital Records

Walker County, Georgia Resources

Walker County, Georgia External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save