Oglethorpe County, Georgia Records

Oglethorpe County, Georgia (Map It) was created on December 19, 1793 from Wilkes County. Portions of Oglethorpe County were used to create Madison County (1811) and Taliaferro County (1825). Oglethorpe County was named in honor of General James Edward Oglethorpe (1696 - 1785), the founder of the Colony of Georgia.

Oglethorpe County is bordered by  Elbert County (northeast), Wilkes County (east), Taliaferro County, Greene County (south), Oconee County (southwest), Clarke County (west), Madison County (north)

A Map of Oglethorpe County, Georgia contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Oglethorpe County, Georgia Courthouse Records

Oglethorpe County, Georgia Courthouse
  • Save

Oglethorpe County, GA Courthouse

The Oglethorpe County Courthouse is located in Lexington, Georgia.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Oglethorpe county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • History of Baker County, Georgia Courthouse
  • Oglethorpe County Clerk of Superior Court has Land Records from 1794 and Court Records from 1794. The County Clerk of Superior Court has jurisdiction over cases for title to land and equity, felony cases, adoptions, divorces, child support and custody enforcement. The clerk also is tasked with recording deeds and maintaining the chain of title to all property in the county. Be aware that Lands were given to Georgia citizens by lotteries for the years 1805, 1807, 1820, 1821, 1827, 1832, 1832 (Gold), 1833.
  • Oglethorpe County Clerk of Probate Court has Marriage Records from 1795 and Probate Records from 1794.The County Clerk of Probate Court responsibilities include legal proceedings forh Wills, Estates, Guardianships of minor children, Involuntary Committals Hearings, Issuance of Marriage License, ect.. The county probate judge's office is the office where the most valuable genealogical records are created and maintained in the state of Georgia.
  • Oglethorpe County Tax Digests are records scanned from microfilm in the Georgia Archives.
  • Oglethorpe County Health Department can issue Birth, Marriage and Death certificates while you wait. Contact the Clerk of Superior Court for Divorce Records and the Probate Judge for Marriage Records.

Oglethorpe County, Georgia Census Records

Oglethorpe County, Georgia Vital Records

Oglethorpe County, Georgia Resources

Oglethorpe County, Georgia External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save