Mitchell County, Georgia Records

Mitchell County, Georgia (Map It) was created on December 21, 1857 from Baker County. Mitchell County was named in honor of Gen. Henry Mitchell (1760 - 1839), a hero of the Revolutionary War.

Mitchell County is bordered by  Dougherty County (north), Worth County (northeast), Colquitt County (east), Thomas County (south), Grady County (south), Decatur County (southwest), Baker County (west)

A Map of Mitchell County, Georgia contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Mitchell County, Georgia Courthouse Records

Mitchell County, Georgia Courthouse
  • Save

Mitchell County, GA Courthouse

The Mitchell County Courthouse is located in Camilla, Georgia. The County Courthouse was destroyed by fire in 1869, some records were destroyed.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Mitchell county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • History of Baker County, Georgia Courthouse
  • Mitchell County Clerk of Superior Court has Land Records from 1858 and Court Records from 1858. The County Clerk of Superior Court has jurisdiction over cases for title to land and equity, felony cases, adoptions, divorces, child support and custody enforcement. The clerk also is tasked with recording deeds and maintaining the chain of title to all property in the county.
  • Mitchell County Clerk of Probate Court has Marriage Records from 1867 and Probate Records from 1868.The County Clerk of Probate Court responsibilities include legal proceedings forh Wills, Estates, Guardianships of minor children, Involuntary Committals Hearings, Issuance of Marriage License, ect.. The county probate judge's office is the office where the most valuable genealogical records are created and maintained in the state of Georgia.
  • Mitchell County Tax Digests are records scanned from microfilm in the Georgia Archives.
  • Mitchell County Health Department can issue Birth, Marriage and Death certificates while you wait. Contact the Clerk of Superior Court for Divorce Records and the Probate Judge for Marriage Records.

Mitchell County, Georgia Census Records

Mitchell County, Georgia Vital Records

Mitchell County, Georgia Resources

Mitchell County, Georgia External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save