Lumpkin County, Georgia Records

Lumpkin County, Georgia (Map It) was created on December 3, 1832 from Cherokee County, Habersham County, and Hall County. Lumpkin County was named in honor of Wilson Lumpkin (1783 - 1870), the Governor of Georgia and a U.S. Senator.

Lumpkin County is bordered by  Union County (north), White County (east), Hall County, Dawson County (west), Fannin County (northwest)

A Map of Lumpkin County, Georgia contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Lumpkin County, Georgia Courthouse Records

Lumpkin County, Georgia Courthouse
  • Save

Lumpkin County, GA Courthouse

The Lumpkin County Courthouse is located in Dahlonega, Georgia.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Lumpkin county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • History of Baker County, Georgia Courthouse
  • Lumpkin County Clerk of Superior Court has Land Records from 1833 and Court Records from 1833. The County Clerk of Superior Court has jurisdiction over cases for title to land and equity, felony cases, adoptions, divorces, child support and custody enforcement. The clerk also is tasked with recording deeds and maintaining the chain of title to all property in the county. Be aware that Lands were given to Georgia citizens by lotteries for the years 1832, 1832 (Gold), 1833.
  • Lumpkin County Clerk of Probate Court has Marriage Records from 1833 and Probate Records from 1833.The County Clerk of Probate Court responsibilities include legal proceedings forh Wills, Estates, Guardianships of minor children, Involuntary Committals Hearings, Issuance of Marriage License, ect.. The county probate judge's office is the office where the most valuable genealogical records are created and maintained in the state of Georgia.
  • Lumpkin County Tax Digests are records scanned from microfilm in the Georgia Archives.
  • Lumpkin County Tax Commissioner
  • The Lumpkin County Health Department can issue Birth, Marriage and Death certificates while you wait. Contact the Clerk of Superior Court for Divorce Records and the Probate Judge for Marriage Records.

Lumpkin County, Georgia Census Records

Lumpkin County, Georgia Vital Records

Lumpkin County, Georgia Resources

Lumpkin County, Georgia External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save