Johnson County, Georgia Records

Johnson County, Georgia (Map It) was created on December 11, 1858 from Emanuel County, Laurens County and Washington County. Johnson County was named in honor of Herschel Vespasian Johnson (1812 - 80), a U.S. Senator and the Governor of Georgia.

Johnson County is bordered by  Washington County (north), Jefferson County (northeast), Emanuel County (east), Treutlen County (south), Laurens County (southwest), Wilkinson County (west).

A Map of Johnson County, Georgia contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Johnson County, Georgia Courthouse Records

Johnson County, Georgia Courthouse
  • Save

Johnson County, GA Courthouse

The Johnson County Courthouse is located in Wrightsville, Georgia.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Johnson county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • History of Baker County, Georgia Courthouse
  • Johnson County Clerk of Superior Court has Land Records from 1859 and Court Records from 1859. The County Clerk of Superior Court has jurisdiction over cases for title to land and equity, felony cases, adoptions, divorces, child support and custody enforcement. The clerk also is tasked with recording deeds and maintaining the chain of title to all property in the county.
  • Johnson County Clerk of Probate Court has Marriage Records from 1859 and Probate Records from 1859.The County Clerk of Probate Court responsibilities include legal proceedings forh Wills, Estates, Guardianships of minor children, Involuntary Committals Hearings, Issuance of Marriage License, ect.. The county probate judge's office is the office where the most valuable genealogical records are created and maintained in the state of Georgia.
  • Johnson County Tax Digests are records scanned from microfilm in the Georgia Archives.
  • Johnson County Tax Assessors
  • The Johnson County Health Department can issue Birth, Marriage and Death certificates while you wait. Contact the Clerk of Superior Court for Divorce Records and the Probate Judge for Marriage Records.

Johnson County, Georgia Census Records

Johnson County, Georgia Vital Records

Johnson County, Georgia Resources

Johnson County, Georgia External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save