Floyd County, Georgia Records

Floyd County, Georgia (Map It) was created on December 3, 1832 from Cherokee County . Portions of Floyd County were used to create Chattooga County (1838), Gordon County (1850), and Polk County (1851). Between 1840 and 1856, the General Assembly transferred land between Chattooga County and Floyd County on ten occasions. Floyd County was named in honor of General John Floyd (1769 - 1839), soldier and a U.S. Congressman.

Floyd County is bordered by  Walker County (north), Gordon County (norteast), Bartow County (east), Polk County (south), Cherokee County, Alabama (west), Chattooga County (northwest).

A Map of Floyd County, Georgia contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Floyd County, Georgia Courthouse Records

Floyd County, Georgia Courthouse
  • Save

Floyd County, GA Courthouse

The Floyd County Courthouse is located in Rome, Georgia.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Floyd county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • History of Baker County, Georgia Courthouse
  • Floyd County Clerk of Superior Court has Land Records from 1840 and Court Records from 1840. The County Clerk of Superior Court has jurisdiction over cases for title to land and equity, felony cases, adoptions, divorces, child support and custody enforcement. The clerk also is tasked with recording deeds and maintaining the chain of title to all property in the county. Be aware that Lands were given to Georgia citizens by lotteries for the years 1832, 1832 (Gold), 1833.
  • Floyd County Clerk of Probate Court has Marriage Records from 1834 and Probate Records from 1837.The County Clerk of Probate Court responsibilities include legal proceedings forh Wills, Estates, Guardianships of minor children, Involuntary Committals Hearings, Issuance of Marriage License, ect.. The county probate judge's office is the office where the most valuable genealogical records are created and maintained in the state of Georgia.
  • Floyd County Tax Digests are records scanned from microfilm in the Georgia Archives.
  • Floyd County Health Department can issue Birth, Marriage and Death certificates while you wait. Contact the Clerk of Superior Court for Divorce Records and the Probate Judge for Marriage Records.

Floyd County, Georgia Census Records

Floyd County, Georgia Vital Records

Floyd County, Georgia Resources

Floyd County, Georgia External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save