Crawford County, Georgia Records

Crawford County, Georgia (Map It) was created on December 9, 1822 from Houston County. Crawford County was named in honor of William Harris Crawford (1772 - 1834), a U.S. Senator, an ambassador to France, and the Secretary of the Treasury.

Crawford County is bordered by  Monroe County (north), Bibb County (east), Peach County (east), Houston County, Taylor County (southwest), Macon County (south), Upson County (northwest)

A Map of Crawford County, Georgia contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Crawford County, Georgia Courthouse Records

Crawford County, Georgia Courthouse
  • Save

Crawford County, GA Courthouse

The Crawford County Courthouse is located in Knoxville, Georgia. The County Courthouse was destroyed by fire in 1829 destroying all records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Crawford county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • History of Baker County, Georgia Courthouse
  • Crawford County Clerk of Superior Court has Land Records from 1830 and Court Records from 1830. The County Clerk of Superior Court has jurisdiction over cases for title to land and equity, felony cases, adoptions, divorces, child support and custody enforcement. The clerk also is tasked with recording deeds and maintaining the chain of title to all property in the county. Be aware that Lands were given to Georgia citizens by lotteries for the years 1820, 1821, 1827, 1832, 1832 (Gold), 1833.
  • Crawford County Clerk of Probate Court has Marriage Records from 1823 and Probate Records from 1830.The County Clerk of Probate Court responsibilities include legal proceedings forh Wills, Estates, Guardianships of minor children, Involuntary Committals Hearings, Issuance of Marriage License, ect.. The county probate judge's office is the office where the most valuable genealogical records are created and maintained in the state of Georgia.
  • Crawford County Tax Digests are records scanned from microfilm in the Georgia Archives.
  • Crawford County Health Department can issue Birth, Marriage and Death certificates while you wait. Contact the Clerk of Superior Court for Divorce Records and the Probate Judge for Marriage Records.

Crawford County, Georgia Census Records

Crawford County, Georgia Vital Records

Crawford County, Georgia Resources

Crawford County, Georgia External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save