Coweta County, Georgia Records

Coweta County, Georgia (Map It) was created on June 9, 1825 from Creek lands ceded in 1825 in the treaty of Indian Springs and Creek Cessions of 1826.. Portions of Coweta County were used to create Campbell County (1828) and Heard County (1830). Coweta County was named in honor of Coweta tribe of the Creek Nation and their village near Columbus.

Coweta County is bordered by Fulton County (norteast), Fayette County (east), Spalding County, Meriwether County (south), Troup County (southwest), Heard County (west), Carroll County (northwest).

A Map of Coweta County, Georgia contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Coweta County, Georgia Courthouse Records

Coweta County, Georgia Courthouse
  • Save

Coweta County, GA Courthouse

The Coweta County Courthouse is located in Newnan, Georgia.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Coweta county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • History of Baker County, Georgia Courthouse
  • Coweta County Clerk of Superior Court has Land Records from 1827 and Court Records from 1828. The County Clerk of Superior Court has jurisdiction over cases for title to land and equity, felony cases, adoptions, divorces, child support and custody enforcement. The clerk also is tasked with recording deeds and maintaining the chain of title to all property in the county. Be aware that Lands were given to Georgia citizens by lotteries for the years 1820, 1821, 1827, 1832, 1832 (Gold), 1833.
  • Coweta County Clerk of Probate Court has Marriage Records from 1828 and Probate Records from 1828.The County Clerk of Probate Court responsibilities include legal proceedings forh Wills, Estates, Guardianships of minor children, Involuntary Committals Hearings, Issuance of Marriage License, ect.. The county probate judge's office is the office where the most valuable genealogical records are created and maintained in the state of Georgia.
  • Coweta County Tax Digests are records scanned from microfilm in the Georgia Archives.
  • Coweta County Health Department can issue Birth, Marriage and Death certificates while you wait. Contact the Clerk of Superior Court for Divorce Records and the Probate Judge for Marriage Records.

Coweta County, Georgia Census Records

Coweta County, Georgia Vital Records

Coweta County, Georgia Resources

Coweta County, Georgia External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save