Owsley County, Kentucky Records

Owsley County, Kentucky (Map It) was created on January 23, 1843 from Clay County, Estill County and Breathitt County. The county was named in honor of William Owsley, Kentucky Secretary of State and later Governor of Kentucky (1844–1848) .

Owsley County is bordered by Lee County (north), Breathitt County (east), Perry County (southeast), Clay County (south), Jackson County (west).

Owsley County Cities and Towns include Booneville.

A Map of Owsley County, Kentucky contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Owsley County, Kentucky Courthouse Records

Owsley County, Kentucky Courthouse
  • Save

Owsley County, KY Courthouse

The Owsley County Courthouse is located in Booneville, Kentucky. In Jan 1929 and again on 5 Jan 1967, there were courthouse fires. In the 1929 fire, all records were destroyed. Learn More About State of Kentucky Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Owsley county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

Owsley County, Kentucky Census Records

Owsley County, Kentucky Vital Records

Owsley County, Kentucky Resources

Owsley County, Kentucky External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save