Fayette County, Kentucky Records

Fayette County, Kentucky (Map It) was created on June 30, 1780 as one of the three original counties formed by Virginia. The county was named in honor of Gilbert du Motier, marquis de Lafayette (1757–1834), French-born Revolutionary War general .

Fayette County is bordered by Scott County (north), Bourbon County (northeast), Clark County (east), Madison County (south), Jessamine County (south), Woodford County (west).

Fayette County Cities and Towns include Lexington, Athens, Clays Ferry, Little Texas, South Elkhorn, Spears.

A Map of Fayette County, Kentucky contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Fayette County, Kentucky Courthouse Records

Fayette County, Kentucky Courthouse
  • Save

Fayette County, KY Courthouse

The Fayette County Courthouse is located in Lexington, Kentucky. Most records for before 31 Jan 1803 were destroyed by fire. A second fire on 14 May 1897 also destroyed some early records. Learn More About State of Kentucky Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Fayette county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

Fayette County, Kentucky Census Records

Fayette County, Kentucky Vital Records

Fayette County, Kentucky Resources

Fayette County, Kentucky External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save