Breathitt County, Kentucky Records

Breathitt County, Kentucky (Map It) was created on February 8, 1839 from Clay County, Estill County and Perry County. The county was named in honor of John Breathitt, eleventh Governor of Kentucky (1832–1834) .

Breathitt County is bordered by Wolfe County (northwest), Magoffin County (northeast), Knott County (east), Perry County (southeast), Owsley County (southwest), Lee County (west).

Breathitt County Cities and Towns include Jackson.

A Map of Breathitt County, Kentucky contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Breathitt County, Kentucky Courthouse Records

Breathitt County, Kentucky Courthouse
  • Save

Breathitt County, KY Courthouse

The Breathitt County Courthouse is located in Jackson, Kentucky. The courthouse or the jail was burned during the Civil War by Confederate troops. A fire in 1873 destroyed most of the county's records. Learn More About State of Kentucky Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Breathitt county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

Breathitt County, Kentucky Census Records

Breathitt County, Kentucky Vital Records

Breathitt County, Kentucky Resources

Breathitt County, Kentucky External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save