Major County, Oklahoma Records

Major County, Oklahoma (Map It) was created on July 16, 1907 from Woods County. The county was named in honor of John C. Major, member of the Oklahoma Constitutional Convention.

Major County is bordered by Woods County (northwest), Alfalfa County (northeast), Garfield County (east), Kingfisher County (southeast), Blaine County (south), Dewey County (southwest), Woodward County (west).

Major County Cities and Towns include Ames, Cleo Springs, Fairview, Meno, Ringwood.

A Map of Major County, Oklahoma contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Major County, Oklahoma Courthouse Records

Major County, Oklahoma Courthouse
  • Save

Major County, OK Courthouse

The Major County Courthouse is located in Fairview, Oklahoma. Learn More About State of Oklahoma Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Major county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk. Guide to the Historical Records of Oklahoma, indicates location of county records, including those of tax and assessments.

  • Major County Clerk's Office has Birth / Death Records from 1908 and Land Records from 1894. The County Clerk's Office is responsible for preserving all the legal instruments filed by private citizens and public officials with the County Clerk's office. The office maintains files of all real estate records, plats, judgments, liens, patents, military discharges, school records, county personnel, insurance and retirement records for employees, meeting notices, commissioners' proceedings and other documents. Although county clerks record births and deaths and provide information on request, certificates are available only from the Vital Records Section, State Department of Health.
  • Major County Court Clerk's Office has Marriage Records from 1907, Probate Records from 1894 and Land Records from 1894. The County Court Clerk's Office has the primary responsibility to record, file, and maintain permanent records of the proceedings of the District Court. We collect fines, fees, and forfeitures, and distribute the collected monies as provided by law to the appropriate agencies. There are numerous types of cases filed with the Court Clerk's Office some of which include: Civil, Small Claims, Probate, Guardianship, Adoption, Felony, Misdemeanor, Search Warrants, Licenses and more.
  • Major County Tax Assessors Office has the responsibility to appraise and assess the real and personal property within the county for the purpose of ad-valorem taxation. Also, the county assessor is required to compute the ad-valorem taxes due on all the taxable property. By law, the county assessor appraises all the taxable real property according to its fair cash value for which the property is actually being used. The county treasurer or assessor may have tax or assessment records. Some tax records are stored in museums, historical, and/or genealogical societies' repositories.

Major County, Oklahoma Census Records

Major County, Oklahoma Vital Records

Major County, Oklahoma Resources

Major County, Oklahoma External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save