Atoka County, Oklahoma Records

Atoka County, Oklahoma (Map It) was created on July 16, 1907 from Choctaw lands. The county was named in honor of Captain Atoka, a noted Choctaw leader and signer of the Treaty of Dancing Rabbit Creek.

Atoka County is bordered by Pittsburg County (north), Pushmataha County (east), Choctaw County (southeast), Bryan County (south), Johnston County (west), Coal County (northwest).

Atoka County Cities and Towns include Atoka, Bentley, Bethany, Blackjack, Boehler, Boggy Depot, Bruno, Burg, Caney, Centerpoint, Chockie, Cook, Crystal, Daisy, Dok, East Allison, East Talico, Farris, Flora, Forrest Hill, Fugate, Goss, Grassy Lake, Half Bank Crossing, Harmony, Hickory Hill, High Hill, Hopewell, Iron Stob, Lane, Limestone Gap, Lone Pine, Mayers Chapel, McGee Valley, Mt. Carmel, Mt. Olive, Negro Bend, New Hope, Nix, Old Farris, Patapoe, Payton Crossing, Pine Springs, Plainview, Pleasant Hill, Redden, Reynolds, Rock Springs, Standing Rock, Star, Stringtown, Taloah, Tushka, Valley View, Voca, Wards Chapel, Wardville, Webster, Wesley, West Allison, West Telico, Wilson.

A Map of Atoka County, Oklahoma contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Atoka County, Oklahoma Courthouse Records

Atoka County, Oklahoma Courthouse
  • Save

Atoka County, OK Courthouse

The Atoka County Courthouse is located in Atoka, Oklahoma. Learn More About State of Oklahoma Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Atoka county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk. Guide to the Historical Records of Oklahoma, indicates location of county records, including those of tax and assessments.

  • Atoka County Clerk's Office has Birth / Death Records from 1908 and Land Records from 1907. The County Clerk's Office is responsible for preserving all the legal instruments filed by private citizens and public officials with the County Clerk's office. The office maintains files of all real estate records, plats, judgments, liens, patents, military discharges, school records, county personnel, insurance and retirement records for employees, meeting notices, commissioners' proceedings and other documents. Although county clerks record births and deaths and provide information on request, certificates are available only from the Vital Records Section, State Department of Health.
  • Atoka County Court Clerk's Office has Marriage Records from 1892, Probate Records from 1897 and Land Records from 1913. The County Court Clerk's Office has the primary responsibility to record, file, and maintain permanent records of the proceedings of the District Court. We collect fines, fees, and forfeitures, and distribute the collected monies as provided by law to the appropriate agencies. There are numerous types of cases filed with the Court Clerk's Office some of which include: Civil, Small Claims, Probate, Guardianship, Adoption, Felony, Misdemeanor, Search Warrants, Licenses and more.
  • Atoka County Tax Assessors Office has the responsibility to appraise and assess the real and personal property within the county for the purpose of ad-valorem taxation. Also, the county assessor is required to compute the ad-valorem taxes due on all the taxable property. By law, the county assessor appraises all the taxable real property according to its fair cash value for which the property is actually being used. The county treasurer or assessor may have tax or assessment records. Some tax records are stored in museums, historical, and/or genealogical societies' repositories.

Atoka County, Oklahoma Census Records

Atoka County, Oklahoma Vital Records

Atoka County, Oklahoma Resources

Atoka County, Oklahoma External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save