Union County, Illinois Records

Union County, Illinois (Map It) was created on January 2, 1818 from Johnson County and Jackson County. Union County was named for the federal union of the states .

Union County is bordered by  Jackson County (north), Williamson County (northeast), Johnson County (east), Pulaski County (southeast), Alexander County (south), Cape Girardeau County, Missouri (west), Perry County, Missouri (northwest)

Union County Cities, Towns & Villages include  Alto Pass, Anna, Cobden, Dongola, Jonesboro, Mill Creek

Union County Precincts include  Alto Pass, Anna, Cobden, Dongola, Jonesboro, Lick Creek, Mill Creek, Misenheimer, Preston, Reynolds, Rich, Stokes, Union, West Saratoga. View the Union Federal Township Plats of Illinois from 1804-1891.

A Union County, Illinois General Highway Maps includes County, City and Township maps which contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Union County, Illinois Courthouse Records

Union County, Illinois Courthouse
  • Save

Union County, IL Courthouse

The Union County Courthouse is located in Jonesboro, Illinois. Learn More About State of Illinois Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Union county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Union County Clerk & Recorder of Deeds has Marriage Records from 1818, Birth & Death Records from 1867 / 1877 and Land Records from 1818. The County Clerk & Recorder of Deeds maintains records and issues certificates of vital statistics (birth certificates, death certificates, and marriage certificates) for the entire County. The Recorder's duties are receiving, filing and maintaining all records related to real property in our county. These documents range from all types of conveyance deeds, mortgages, releases and assignments, property liens, as well as, assorted federal, state and local liens. The Recorder’s office is responsible for the recordation and storage of plats of subdivision, land surveys and monument records. Many other types of miscellaneous documents are recorded, such as; foreign birth certificates, foreign marriage licenses, and military discharge paperwork to name a few.
  • Union County Clerk of the Circuit Court has Probate Records from 1818 and Court Records from 1817. The County Clerk of the Circuit Court, commonly known as the Circuit Clerk, is the keeper of the files and records of the Circuit Court. The Circuit Clerk's Office retains documents some of which include criminal law, chancery, support, probate, adoption, ect....
  • Union County Treasurer's Office is responsible for the statutory duties required as County Treasurer and as Ex-Officio County Collector of Real Estate Property Taxes and Drainage District Taxes for the entire county.
  • Local Government Records Database provides a listing of the local governmental records held by the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) system

Union County, Illinois Census Records

Union County, Illinois Vital Records

Union County, Illinois Resources

Union County, Illinois External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save