Shelby County, Illinois Records

Shelby County, Illinois (Map It) was created on January 23, 1827 from Morgan County.. Shelby County was named for Isaac Shelby (1750-1826), soldier in the American Revolutionary War and War of 1812, and first and fifth Governor of Kentucky.

Shelby County is bordered by  Macon County (north), Moultrie County (northeast), Coles County (east), Cumberland County (east), Effingham County (south), Fayette County (south), Montgomery County (southwest), Christian County (west)

Shelby County Cities, Towns & Villages include  Cowden, Findlay, Herrick, Moweaqua, Oconee, Shelbyville, Sigel, Stewardson, Strasburg, Tower Hill, Windsor.

Shelby County Townships include  Lakewood, Holland, Herrick, Flat Branch, Big Spring, Ash Grove, Cold Spring, Clarksburg, Dry Point, Prairie, Penn, Pickaway, Okaw, Oconee, Moweaqua, Shelbyville, Sigel, Richland, Ridge, Rural, Rose, Todds Point, Tower Hill, Windsor. View the Shelby Federal Township Plats of Illinois from 1804-1891.

A Shelby County, Illinois General Highway Maps includes County, City and Township maps which contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Shelby County, Illinois Courthouse Records

Shelby County, Illinois Courthouse
  • Save

Shelby County, IL Courthouse

The Shelby County Courthouse is located in Shelbyville, Illinois. Some records lost or damaged in a fire on November 17, 1894. Learn More About State of Illinois Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Shelby county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Shelby County Clerk & Recorder of Deeds has Marriage Records from 1827, Birth & Death Records from 1877 and Land Records from 1827. The County Clerk & Recorder of Deeds maintains records and issues certificates of vital statistics (birth certificates, death certificates, and marriage certificates) for the entire County. The Recorder's duties are receiving, filing and maintaining all records related to real property in our county. These documents range from all types of conveyance deeds, mortgages, releases and assignments, property liens, as well as, assorted federal, state and local liens. The Recorder’s office is responsible for the recordation and storage of plats of subdivision, land surveys and monument records. Many other types of miscellaneous documents are recorded, such as; foreign birth certificates, foreign marriage licenses, and military discharge paperwork to name a few.
  • Shelby County Clerk of the Circuit Court has Probate Records from 1831 and Court Records from 1827. The County Clerk of the Circuit Court, commonly known as the Circuit Clerk, is the keeper of the files and records of the Circuit Court. The Circuit Clerk's Office retains documents some of which include criminal law, chancery, support, probate, adoption, ect....
  • Shelby County Treasurer's Office is responsible for the statutory duties required as County Treasurer and as Ex-Officio County Collector of Real Estate Property Taxes and Drainage District Taxes for the entire county.
  • Local Government Records Database provides a listing of the local governmental records held by the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) system

Shelby County, Illinois Census Records

Shelby County, Illinois Vital Records

Shelby County, Illinois Resources

Shelby County, Illinois External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save