Montgomery County, Illinois Records

Montgomery County, Illinois (Map It) was created on February 21, 1821 from Bond County and Madison County. Montgomery County was named for Gen. Richard Montgomery (1738-1775), brigadier-general in the Continental Army who led the unsuccessful invasion of Canada.

Montgomery County is bordered by  Sangamon County (north), Shelby County (northeast), Christian County (northeast), Fayette County (southeast), Bond County (south), Madison County (southwest), Macoupin County (west)

Montgomery County Cities, Towns & Villages include  Butler, Coalton, Coffeen, Donnellson, Farmersville, Fillmore, Harvel, Hillsboro, Irving, Litchfield, Nokomis, Ohlman, Panama, Raymond, Schram City, Taylor Springs, Waggoner, Walshville, Wenonah, Witt.

Montgomery County Townships include  Hillsboro, Harvel, Irving, Fillmore, East Fork, Grisham, Bois D’Arc, Audubon, Butler Grove, Raymond, Pitman, North Litchfield, Nokomis, South Litchfield, South Fillmore, Rountree, Walshville, Witt, Zanesville. View the Montgomery Federal Township Plats of Illinois from 1804-1891.

A Montgomery County, Illinois General Highway Maps includes County, City and Township maps which contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Montgomery County, Illinois Courthouse Records

Montgomery County, Illinois Courthouse
  • Save

Montgomery County, IL Courthouse

The Montgomery County Courthouse is located in Hillsboro, Illinois. Learn More About State of Illinois Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Montgomery county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Montgomery County Clerk & Recorder of Deeds has Marriage Records from 1821, Birth & Death Records from 1862 / 1877 and Land Records from 1819. The County Clerk & Recorder of Deeds maintains records and issues certificates of vital statistics (birth certificates, death certificates, and marriage certificates) for the entire County. The Recorder's duties are receiving, filing and maintaining all records related to real property in our county. These documents range from all types of conveyance deeds, mortgages, releases and assignments, property liens, as well as, assorted federal, state and local liens. The Recorder’s office is responsible for the recordation and storage of plats of subdivision, land surveys and monument records. Many other types of miscellaneous documents are recorded, such as; foreign birth certificates, foreign marriage licenses, and military discharge paperwork to name a few.
  • Montgomery County Clerk of the Circuit Court has Probate Records from 1821 and Court Records from 1821. The County Clerk of the Circuit Court, commonly known as the Circuit Clerk, is the keeper of the files and records of the Circuit Court. The Circuit Clerk's Office retains documents some of which include criminal law, chancery, support, probate, adoption, ect....
  • Montgomery County Treasurer's Office is responsible for the statutory duties required as County Treasurer and as Ex-Officio County Collector of Real Estate Property Taxes and Drainage District Taxes for the entire county.
  • Local Government Records Database provides a listing of the local governmental records held by the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) system

Montgomery County, Illinois Census Records

Montgomery County, Illinois Vital Records

Montgomery County, Illinois Resources

Montgomery County, Illinois External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save