Macon County, Illinois Records

Macon County, Illinois (Map It) was created on January 19, 1829 from Shelby County. Macon County was named for Nathaniel Macon (1758-1837), sixth Speaker of the United States House of Representatives and United States Senator from North Carolina. .

Macon County is bordered by  DeWitt County (north), Piatt County (northeast), Moultrie County (southeast), Shelby County (south), Christian County (southwest), Sangamon County (west), Logan County (northwest)

Macon County Cities, Towns & Villages include  Argenta, Bearsdale, Blue Mound, Decatur, Emery, Forsyth, Harristown, Long Creek, Macon, Maroa, Mount Zion, Newburg, Niantic, Oakley, Oreana, Warrensburg.

Macon County Townships include  Hickory Point, Harristown, Illini, Friends Creek, Blue Mound, Austin, Decatur, Pleasant View, Oakley, Maroa, Long Creek, Milam, Mt. Zion, Niantic, South Macon, South Wheatland, Whitmore. View the Macon Federal Township Plats of Illinois from 1804-1891.

A Macon County, Illinois General Highway Maps includes County, City and Township maps which contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Macon County, Illinois Courthouse Records

Macon County, Illinois Courthouse
  • Save

Macon County, IL Courthouse

The Macon County Courthouse is located in Decatur, Illinois. Learn More About State of Illinois Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Macon county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Macon County Clerk has Marriage Records from 1829 and Birth & Death Records from 1877. The County Clerk maintains records and issues certificates of vital statistics (birth certificates, death certificates, and marriage certificates) for the entire County.
  • Macon County Recorder of Deeds has Land Records from 1827. The County Recorder of Deeds serves the people of County by receiving, filing and maintaining all records related to real property in our county. These documents range from all types of conveyance deeds, mortgages, releases and assignments, property liens, as well as, assorted federal, state and local liens. The Recorder’s office is responsible for the recordation and storage of plats of subdivision, land surveys and monument records. Many other types of miscellaneous documents are recorded, such as; foreign birth certificates, foreign marriage licenses, and military discharge paperwork to name a few.
  • Macon County Clerk of the Circuit Court has Probate Records from 1831 and Court Records from 1829. The County Clerk of the Circuit Court, commonly known as the Circuit Clerk, is the keeper of the files and records of the Circuit Court. The Circuit Clerk's Office retains documents some of which include criminal law, chancery, support, probate, adoption, ect....
  • Macon County Treasurer's Office is responsible for the statutory duties required as County Treasurer and as Ex-Officio County Collector of Real Estate Property Taxes and Drainage District Taxes for the entire county.
  • Local Government Records Database provides a listing of the local governmental records held by the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) system

Macon County, Illinois Census Records

Macon County, Illinois Vital Records

Macon County, Illinois Resources

Macon County, Illinois External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save