Johnson County, Illinois Records

Johnson County, Illinois (Map It) was created on September 14, 1812 from Randolph County. Johnson County was named for Richard Mentor Johnson (abt. 1780-1850), ninth Vice President of the United States and United States Senator form Kentucky.

Johnson County is bordered by  Williamson County (north), Saline County (northeast), Pope County (east), Massac County (southeast), Pulaski County (southwest), Union County (west)

Johnson County Cities, Towns & Villages include  Belknap, Buncombe, Cypress, Goreville, New Burnside, Simpson, Vienna

Johnson County Precincts include  Belknap, Bloomfield, Burnside, Cache, Elvira, Goreville No. 1, Goreville No. 2, Grantsburg No. 1, Grantsburg No. 2, Lake No. 1, Lake No. 2, Ozark, Simpson, Tunnel Hill, Vienna No. 1, Vienna No. 2, Vienna No. 3.. View the Johnson Federal Township Plats of Illinois from 1804-1891.

A Johnson County, Illinois General Highway Maps includes County, City and Township maps which contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Johnson County, Illinois Courthouse Records

Johnson County, Illinois Courthouse
  • Save

Johnson County, IL Courthouse

The Johnson County Courthouse is located in Vienna, Illinois. Learn More About State of Illinois Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Johnson county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Johnson County Clerk & Recorder of Deeds has Marriage Records from 1835, Birth & Death Records from 1878 and Land Records from 1809. The County Clerk & Recorder of Deeds maintains records and issues certificates of vital statistics (birth certificates, death certificates, and marriage certificates) for the entire County. The Recorder's duties are receiving, filing and maintaining all records related to real property in our county. These documents range from all types of conveyance deeds, mortgages, releases and assignments, property liens, as well as, assorted federal, state and local liens. The Recorder’s office is responsible for the recordation and storage of plats of subdivision, land surveys and monument records. Many other types of miscellaneous documents are recorded, such as; foreign birth certificates, foreign marriage licenses, and military discharge paperwork to name a few.
  • Johnson County Clerk of the Circuit Court has Probate Records from 1821 and Court Records from 1812. The County Clerk of the Circuit Court, commonly known as the Circuit Clerk, is the keeper of the files and records of the Circuit Court. The Circuit Clerk's Office retains documents some of which include criminal law, chancery, support, probate, adoption, ect....
  • Johnson County Treasurer's Office is responsible for the statutory duties required as County Treasurer and as Ex-Officio County Collector of Real Estate Property Taxes and Drainage District Taxes for the entire county.
  • Local Government Records Database provides a listing of the local governmental records held by the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) system

Johnson County, Illinois Census Records

Johnson County, Illinois Vital Records

Johnson County, Illinois Resources

Johnson County, Illinois External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save