Franklin County, Illinois Records

Franklin County, Illinois (Map It) was created on January 2, 1818 from Gallatin County and White County. Franklin County was named for Benjamin Franklin (1706–1790), prolific writer, inventor, and politician; key factor in the American Revolution.

Franklin County is bordered by  Jefferson County (north), Hamilton County (east), Saline County (southeast), Williamson County (south), Jackson County (southwest), Perry County (west)

Franklin County Cities, Towns & Villages include  Benton, Christopher, Orient, Sesser, West Frankfort, Zeigler, Buckner, Ewing, Freeman Spur, Hanaford, Macedonia, Mulkeytown, North City, Royalton, Thompsonville, Valier, West City.

Franklin County Townships include  Ewing, Eastern, Frankfort, Goode, Browning, Benton, Barren, Cave, Denning, Northern, Six Mile, Tyrone.. View the Franklin Federal Township Plats of Illinois from 1804-1891.

A Franklin County, Illinois General Highway Maps includes County, City and Township maps which contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Franklin County, Illinois Courthouse Records

Franklin County, Illinois Courthouse
  • Save

Franklin County, IL Courthouse

The Franklin County Courthouse is located in Benton, Illinois. Most records lost (1818–1843) due to a fire on November 18, 1843. Learn More About State of Illinois Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Franklin county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Franklin County Clerk & Recorder of Deeds has Marriage Records from 1836, Birth & Death Records from 1877 and Land Records from 1835. The County Clerk & Recorder of Deeds maintains records and issues certificates of vital statistics (birth certificates, death certificates, and marriage certificates) for the entire County. The Recorder's duties are receiving, filing and maintaining all records related to real property in our county. These documents range from all types of conveyance deeds, mortgages, releases and assignments, property liens, as well as, assorted federal, state and local liens. The Recorder’s office is responsible for the recordation and storage of plats of subdivision, land surveys and monument records. Many other types of miscellaneous documents are recorded, such as; foreign birth certificates, foreign marriage licenses, and military discharge paperwork to name a few.
  • Franklin County Clerk of the Circuit Court has Probate Records from 1837 and Court Records from 1836. The County Clerk of the Circuit Court, commonly known as the Circuit Clerk, is the keeper of the files and records of the Circuit Court. The Circuit Clerk's Office retains documents some of which include criminal law, chancery, support, probate, adoption, ect....
  • Franklin County Treasurer's Office is responsible for the statutory duties required as County Treasurer and as Ex-Officio County Collector of Real Estate Property Taxes and Drainage District Taxes for the entire county.
  • Local Government Records Database provides a listing of the local governmental records held by the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) system

Franklin County, Illinois Census Records

Franklin County, Illinois Vital Records

Franklin County, Illinois Resources

Franklin County, Illinois External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save