Effingham County, Illinois Records

Effingham County, Illinois (Map It) was created on February 15, 1831 from Crawford County and Fayette County. Effingham County was named for Lord Edward Effingham, military officer who resigned from the British Army to avoid fighting the American colonies .

Effingham County is bordered by  Cumberland County (northeast), Jasper County (east), Clay County (southeast), Fayette County (west), Shelby County (northwest)

Effingham County Cities, Towns & Villages include  Altamont, Effingham, Mason, Beecher City, Dieterich, Edgewood, Montrose, Shumway, Teutopolis, Watson.

Effingham County Townships include  Liberty, Jackson, Bishop, Banner, Douglas, Mason, Lucas, Mound, Moccasin, St. Francis, Union, Summit, Teutopolis, West, Watson. View the Effingham Federal Township Plats of Illinois from 1804-1891.

A Effingham County, Illinois General Highway Maps includes County, City and Township maps which contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Effingham County, Illinois Courthouse Records

Effingham County, Illinois Courthouse
  • Save

Effingham County, IL Courthouse

The Effingham County Courthouse is located in Effingham, Illinois. Learn More About State of Illinois Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Effingham county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Effingham County Clerk & Recorder of Deeds has Marriage Records from 1833, Birth & Death Records from 1877 and Land Records from 1833. The County Clerk & Recorder of Deeds maintains records and issues certificates of vital statistics (birth certificates, death certificates, and marriage certificates) for the entire County. The Recorder's duties are receiving, filing and maintaining all records related to real property in our county. These documents range from all types of conveyance deeds, mortgages, releases and assignments, property liens, as well as, assorted federal, state and local liens. The Recorder’s office is responsible for the recordation and storage of plats of subdivision, land surveys and monument records. Many other types of miscellaneous documents are recorded, such as; foreign birth certificates, foreign marriage licenses, and military discharge paperwork to name a few.
  • Effingham County Clerk of the Circuit Court has Probate Records from 1838 and Court Records from 1833. The County Clerk of the Circuit Court, commonly known as the Circuit Clerk, is the keeper of the files and records of the Circuit Court. The Circuit Clerk's Office retains documents some of which include criminal law, chancery, support, probate, adoption, ect....
  • Effingham County Treasurer's Office is responsible for the statutory duties required as County Treasurer and as Ex-Officio County Collector of Real Estate Property Taxes and Drainage District Taxes for the entire county.
  • Local Government Records Database provides a listing of the local governmental records held by the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) system

Effingham County, Illinois Census Records

Effingham County, Illinois Vital Records

Effingham County, Illinois Resources

Effingham County, Illinois External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save