Douglas County, Illinois Records

Douglas County, Illinois (Map It) was created on February 16, 1859 from Coles County. Douglas County was named for Stephen A. Douglas (1813–1861), prominent Illinois Democrat who engaged in debates with Abraham Lincoln.

Douglas County is bordered by  Champaign County (north), Vermilion County (northeast), Edgar County (east), Coles County (south), Moultrie County (west), Piatt County (northwest)

Douglas County Cities, Towns & Villages include  Arcola, Arthur, Atwood, Camargo, Garrett, Hindsboro, Hugo, Newman, Tuscola, Villa Grove.

Douglas County Townships include  Garrett, Bourbon, Bowdre, Arcola, Camargo, Murdock, Newman, Sargent, Tuscola. View the Douglas Federal Township Plats of Illinois from 1804-1891.

A Douglas County, Illinois General Highway Maps includes County, City and Township maps which contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Douglas County, Illinois Courthouse Records

Douglas County, Illinois Courthouse
  • Save

Douglas County, IL Courthouse

The Douglas County Courthouse is located in Tuscola, Illinois. Learn More About State of Illinois Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Douglas county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Douglas County Clerk & Recorder of Deeds has Marriage Records from 1859, Birth & Death Records from 1877 and Land Records from 1830. The County Clerk & Recorder of Deeds maintains records and issues certificates of vital statistics (birth certificates, death certificates, and marriage certificates) for the entire County. The Recorder's duties are receiving, filing and maintaining all records related to real property in our county. These documents range from all types of conveyance deeds, mortgages, releases and assignments, property liens, as well as, assorted federal, state and local liens. The Recorder’s office is responsible for the recordation and storage of plats of subdivision, land surveys and monument records. Many other types of miscellaneous documents are recorded, such as; foreign birth certificates, foreign marriage licenses, and military discharge paperwork to name a few.
  • Douglas County Clerk of the Circuit Court has Probate Records from 1859 and Court Records from 1859. The County Clerk of the Circuit Court, commonly known as the Circuit Clerk, is the keeper of the files and records of the Circuit Court. The Circuit Clerk's Office retains documents some of which include criminal law, chancery, support, probate, adoption, ect....
  • Douglas County Treasurer's Office is responsible for the statutory duties required as County Treasurer and as Ex-Officio County Collector of Real Estate Property Taxes and Drainage District Taxes for the entire county.
  • Local Government Records Database provides a listing of the local governmental records held by the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) system

Douglas County, Illinois Census Records

Douglas County, Illinois Vital Records

Douglas County, Illinois Resources

Douglas County, Illinois External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save