DeWitt County, Illinois Records

DeWitt County, Illinois (Map It) was created on March 1, 1839 from Macon County and McLean County. DeWitt County was named for DeWitt Clinton (1769–1828), Governor of New York, responsible for the construction of the Erie Canal.

DeWitt County is bordered by  McLean County (north), Piatt County (east), Macon County (south), Logan County (west)

DeWitt County Cities, Towns & Villages include  Clinton, Farmer City, DeWitt, Kenney, Wapella, Waynesville, Weldon.

DeWitt County Townships include  Harp, Barnett, Clintonia, Creek, DeWitt, Nixon, Rutledge, Santa Anna, Turnbridge, Texas, Wapella, Waynesville, Wilson. View the DeWitt Federal Township Plats of Illinois from 1804-1891.

A DeWitt County, Illinois General Highway Maps includes County, City and Township maps which contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

DeWitt County, Illinois Courthouse Records

DeWitt County, Illinois Courthouse
  • Save

DeWitt County, IL Courthouse

The DeWitt County Courthouse is located in Clinton, Illinois. Learn More About State of Illinois Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in DeWitt county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • DeWitt County Clerk & Recorder of Deeds has Marriage Records from 1839, Birth & Death Records from 1877 and Land Records from 1828. The County Clerk & Recorder of Deeds maintains records and issues certificates of vital statistics (birth certificates, death certificates, and marriage certificates) for the entire County. The Recorder's duties are receiving, filing and maintaining all records related to real property in our county. These documents range from all types of conveyance deeds, mortgages, releases and assignments, property liens, as well as, assorted federal, state and local liens. The Recorder’s office is responsible for the recordation and storage of plats of subdivision, land surveys and monument records. Many other types of miscellaneous documents are recorded, such as; foreign birth certificates, foreign marriage licenses, and military discharge paperwork to name a few.
  • DeWitt County Clerk of the Circuit Court has Probate Records from 1839 and Court Records from 1839. The County Clerk of the Circuit Court, commonly known as the Circuit Clerk, is the keeper of the files and records of the Circuit Court. The Circuit Clerk's Office retains documents some of which include criminal law, chancery, support, probate, adoption, ect....
  • DeWitt County Treasurer's Office is responsible for the statutory duties required as County Treasurer and as Ex-Officio County Collector of Real Estate Property Taxes and Drainage District Taxes for the entire county.
  • Local Government Records Database provides a listing of the local governmental records held by the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) system

DeWitt County, Illinois Census Records

DeWitt County, Illinois Vital Records

DeWitt County, Illinois Resources

DeWitt County, Illinois External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save