Adams County, Illinois Records

Adams County, Illinois (Map It) was created on January 13, 1825 from Pike County (portions of present area was formerly included in Pike County (1821–1825), Madison County (1812–1821), St. Clair County (1795–1812)). Adams County was named for John Quincy Adams (1767–1848), sixth President of the United States .

Adams County is bordered by  Hancock County (north), Brown County (east), Schuyler County (east), Pike County (southeast), Marion County, Missouri (west), Lewis County, Missouri (west)

Adams County Cities, Towns & Villages include  Quincy, Camp Point, Clayton, Coatsburg, Columbus, Golden, La Prairie, Liberty, Lima, Loraine, Mendon, Payson, Plainville, Ursa.

Adams County Townships include  Beverly, Burton, Camp Point, Clayton, Columbus, Concord, Ellington, Fall Creek, Gilmer, Honey Creek, Houston, Keene, Liberty, Lima, McKee, Melrose, Mendon, Northeast, Payson, Quincy, Richfield, Riverside, Ursa. View the Adams Federal Township Plats of Illinois from 1804-1891.

A Adams County, Illinois General Highway Maps includes County, City and Township maps which contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Adams County, Illinois Courthouse Records

Adams County, Illinois Courthouse
  • Save

Adams County, IL Courthouse

The Adams County Courthouse is located in Quincy, Illinois. Some records lost or damaged in a fire on December 9, 1835. Second courthouse was destroyed by fire January 9, 1875. Third Courthouse was damaged beyond repair by a tornado that roared thru Quincy April 12, 1945. Learn More About State of Illinois Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Adams county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Adams County Clerk & Recorder of Deeds has Marriage Records from 1825, Birth & Death Records from 1877 and Land Records from 1817. The County Clerk & Recorder of Deeds maintains records and issues certificates of vital statistics (birth certificates, death certificates, and marriage certificates) for the entire County. The Recorder's duties are receiving, filing and maintaining all records related to real property in our county. These documents range from all types of conveyance deeds, mortgages, releases and assignments, property liens, as well as, assorted federal, state and local liens. The Recorder’s office is responsible for the recordation and storage of plats of subdivision, land surveys and monument records. Many other types of miscellaneous documents are recorded, such as; foreign birth certificates, foreign marriage licenses, and military discharge paperwork to name a few.
  • Adams County Clerk of the Circuit Court has Probate Records from 1826 and Court Records from 1825. The County Clerk of the Circuit Court, commonly known as the Circuit Clerk, is the keeper of the files and records of the Circuit Court. The Circuit Clerk's Office retains documents some of which include criminal law, chancery, support, probate, adoption, ect....
  • Adams County Treasurer's Office is responsible for the statutory duties required as County Treasurer and as Ex-Officio County Collector of Real Estate Property Taxes and Drainage District Taxes for the entire county.
  • Local Government Records Database provides a listing of the local governmental records held by the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) system

Adams County, Illinois Census Records

Adams County, Illinois Vital Records

Adams County, Illinois Resources

Adams County, Illinois External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save