New Haven County, Connecticut Records

New Haven County, Connecticut (Map It) was created on May 10, 1666 and was formed as One of four original counties created in Connecticut. The county was named after New Haven Harbor, site of one of the early Connecticut colonial settlements.

New Haven County is bordered by Hartford County, Connecticut (north), Middlesex County, Connecticut (east), Fairfield County, Connecticut (west), Litchfield County, Connecticut (northwest).

New Haven County Cities and Towns include Ansonia (consolidated city-town), Beacon Falls, Bethany, Branford, Cheshire, Derby (consolidated city-town), East Haven, Guilford, Hamden, Madison, Meriden (consolidated city-town), Middlebury, Milford (consolidated city-town), Naugatuck (borough), New Haven (consolidated city-town), North Branford, North Haven, Orange, Oxford, Prospect, Seymour, Southbury, Wallingford, Waterbury (consolidated city-town), West Haven (consolidated city-town), Wolcott and Woodbridge. A Map of Connecticut Towns by County contains detailed information about county and town boundaries.

New Haven County, Connecticut Courthouse Records

The New Haven County Courthouse was located in New Haven, Connecticut (1666-1960).. Counties were abolished officially in 1959 though their purpose had been chiefly to define county court districts. For genealogical research purposes, counties become necessary when using the federal census returns, since they are all cataloged by county. Learn More About State of Connecticut Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each town clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Town Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

All deeds, vital records, and probate records for all Connecticut towns are available to 1900 on microfilm at the Connecticut State Library or through the FHL. See also Connecticut Towns and Their Establishment

Taxes were levied for personal property and land through most of Connecticut's history. The town assessor (or lister) made annual lists or rates of all taxables. This generated a considerable number of tax lists across time, but the Connecticut State Library has a list of various tax records still at the town clerk's offices. The Connecticut Historical Society and the genealogical collections throughout the state have some records.

Those matters not in the realm of the superior court were heard by the county courts (initially called prerogative or common pleas). The county court, begun in 1666, was abolished in 1955, and its functions were divided between justice courts and superior courts. Most of the county records, to its abolition date, are at the Connecticut State Library.

New Haven County, Connecticut Census Records

New Haven County, Connecticut Vital Records

New Haven County, Connecticut Resources

New Haven County, Connecticut External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save