Hartford County, Connecticut Records

Hartford County, Connecticut (Map It) was created on May 10, 1666 and was formed as One of four original counties created in Connecticut. The county was named after Hertfordshire, England. The County Seat was Hartford, Connecticut (1666-1960).

Hartford County is bordered by Hampden County, Massachusetts (north),Tolland County, Connecticut (east), New London County, Connecticut (southeast), Middlesex County, Connecticut (south), New Haven County, Connecticut (southwest), Litchfield County, Connecticut (west), New London County, Connecticut (southeast).

Hartford County Cities and Towns include Avon, Berlin, Bloomfield, Bristol (consolidated city-town), Burlington, Canton, East Granby, East Hartford, East Windsor, Enfield, Farmington, Glastonbury, Granby, Hartford (consolidated city-town), Hartland, Manchester, Marlborough, New Britain (consolidated city-town), Newington, Plainville, Rocky Hill, Simsbury, South Windsor, Southington, Suffield, West Hartford, Wethersfield, Windsor and Windsor Locks. A Map of Connecticut Towns by County contains detailed information about county and town boundaries.

Hartford County, Connecticut Courthouse Records

The Hartford County Courthouse was located in Hartford, Connecticut (1666-1960). Counties were abolished officially in 1959 though their purpose had been chiefly to define county court districts. For genealogical research purposes, counties become necessary when using the federal census returns, since they are all cataloged by county. Learn More About State of Connecticut Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each town clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Town Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

All deeds, vital records, and probate records for all Connecticut towns are available to 1900 on microfilm at the Connecticut State Library or through the FHL. See also Connecticut Towns and Their Establishment

Taxes were levied for personal property and land through most of Connecticut's history. The town assessor (or lister) made annual lists or rates of all taxables. This generated a considerable number of tax lists across time, but the Connecticut State Library has a list of various tax records still at the town clerk's offices. The Connecticut Historical Society and the genealogical collections throughout the state have some records.

Those matters not in the realm of the superior court were heard by the county courts (initially called prerogative or common pleas). The county court, begun in 1666, was abolished in 1955, and its functions were divided between justice courts and superior courts. Most of the county records, to its abolition date, are at the Connecticut State Library.

Hartford County, Connecticut Census Records

Hartford County, Connecticut Vital Records

Hartford County, Connecticut Resources

Hartford County, Connecticut External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save